my Rendition of Leonardo da Vinci

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I always wanted to wish I could reproduce or attempt a master painting by a famous painter. A bunch of people said to paint a copy or "My version" of THE Monalisa" but I thought no... that is too used and over copied by people.
So I chose to paint a version of The Lady and the Ermine by Leonardo da Vinci.

I added a landscape with a few buildings and a road and bridge and changed her jewelry to clear green Beads. but for the most part left it as is.

1585.jpg

Sort:  

looks great! When it comes to a face, the eyes need to focused. Meaning the eyes need to be aligned. Under any great painting there is a mathematical skeleton under it.

Yes you are right. I did this painting in 1987 and it was when I was six years into painting. I coated the acrylic with acrylic polyurethane so it is hermetically sealed in the state that I did it in. Years later I regret, only due to the fact that I can't revise.
Thank you for your truthful comment and I should say even lately, I didn't see that but just knew something was askew .
I still like it though.

I have been an artist for over 40 years and criticism is part of the secret to success. Some people know what they are talking about and others, well you'll be out of business if you painted the way they would like to see it. So, I am glad you didn't take my critique personally.

I always enjoy a good Critique. I would like you so see the other portraits that were done I have posted. Many have a better Mathematical skeleton under them.
Do you have a website to show any of your art? I didn't see any on this site. I did see you are into silver which is something I have collected from 1969.
It is a slow process to learn to read grading on coins to buy and sell. Now I basically stick to bullion but I still am holding some nice dates in halves, quarters and dimes from 1800's on up. I am waiting for the banks to fail on their manipulation of the actual silver price rather than the paper shorting that they have mastered uncontested. Thank you again for your comments and your wonderful honest critique.

[email protected] and I will send you a link for privacy.

Did you really paint this

Yes I did... and I still have this painting

damn, skils bro

edit: resteemd.

Thank you... very much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68913.70
ETH 3738.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68