I painted 2B form Nier: Automata

in #art7 years ago

It's a good game yo.
So I've painted the main character. 16.png
I wider shot of the character. She's using a sword named Beastlord15.png
And here she is with a different leg pose. I'm a little fussy..19.png
I've also put together a little gif. It shows most of my process.1-nier.gif
I used the model http://senshistock.deviantart.com/ as a reference.

Thank you

And if you liked this painting or any of my other works, don't forget to do what ever the hell you want, idk, maybe request or recommend some future works, or comment, or something.

Sort:  

wow great post, I loved how you show your reference material and it turned out great. My only critique will be the blurring and softening. Blurred backgrounds are one thing, but blurring something that close to the foreground is going to give the image an optical illusion called Tilt-Shift Blurring. The only way optics will allow her legs to be that blurry is if she is a miniature and we are taking the photo through a macro lens. Great image, but the blurring is too much.

Many thanks, and I appreciate the criticism, after looking at it with fresh eyes, I can see I went overboard with the blur. I'm in the process of giving a background to this piece, and will use what you've said to improve upon it. Whilst we're on the topic, do you think the colours could be kicked up a notch? I feel that in it's current state, they may appear too bland.

Good discussion! I really do think it is a great image, I just think you went overboard with the blur is all. I do not think the colors need to be more vibrant although you could always experiment and have fun. I think the problem that remains is the background is very pale and bland. I think that with some simple treatment to the BG, you will find the colors in the foreground pop much better. Some simple gradients in the BG would be a quick, easy start, maybe white to blue just to show the sky. Later on work in clouds, lens flares, and sun beams, etc. There is a really good set of cloud brushes for Photoshop out there for free if you search for them. Keep it up! Great work! Love the discussion!

I should also comment that the stance with her legs more open is not as flattering for her. It might be more realistic but her curves carry more sex appeal in the final position you chose. I know that might seem a little brash coming from a male but.... There is a reason that most models are taking photos in similar poses. It is usually not a mistake and gals don't always stand in such ways either. I think that most artists just refuses to drop the appeal that comes with those curves.

Lastly, I would really like to get @orcish to get involved with these discussion. @orcish is better than me, by far. So I would really like to get insight from them and others. Hopefully these mentions will get their attention.

Regardless of blurring, that sword is awesome. Animated GIF process is very useful too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55758.52
ETH 2348.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31