Progress stages of my painting "Dream Materialization"

in #art7 years ago

Here is the progress of another painting based on the Rorschach / Décalcomanie technique. This piece had to wait 7 years until I figured out how to finish it.

The problem with Décalcomanie is that the textures can get quite intense and beautiful and that I simply don't want to destroy them by painting over it. When I get so absorbed by the resulting textures all I can do is to leave it for a while and wait.

Dream Materialization, 1998-2005
Acrylic on fiberboard, 40 x 30 cm / 15.75" x 11.81"
Private collection / Germany


The progress...


Stage 1


Stage 2


Stage 3


Stage 4


Final version

Sort:  

Fantastic work Gric! You really outdid yourself this time. I love looking at this splendid piece and you are FAR TOO under appreciated on Steemit. Keep doing your thing, people will gain notice here eventually. This is very high quality stuff and it makes me so happy that the Internet allows me to converse with you.

This piece reminds me much of the style of Salvador Dali, although it is far more advanced than most of his work.

I feel lucky to have lived, seen this for myself, and commented on it in the Internet. Something that I will never have with Dali but would have loved. You are the real deal Gric! Keep it up.

I just gave this piece my first 100% vote, ever!

Thank you so much @kidsysco for your kind words and for your vote!!!

Do you ever charge money for licensing or royalties to use your art?

I do if it's for commercial purpose like for cd covers or books.

I keep looking at this image and thinking. When I fall to sleep, there is a point in between sleeping and being awake where I can feel myself drifting away. Many times I get wild visuals during this time and of course also while dreaming. But that point where I am still passing between the two phases... Many of my visuals seem to be made up of stuff like that flying over her head in your image. Fascinating Gric!

Being aware of falling asleep is actually quite difficult to achieve. If you have this ability than you might want to try lucid dreaming. In this state you are fully aware that you are dreaming and this gives you the power to change the reality of your dream.

@kidsysco I'm fairly new to steemit and when I see something I am unsure of, I ask so I can continue learning. You mentioned giving your first 100% vote. Can you elaborate on this? I am sort of aware but need clarity. I would also like to know how you went about allocating all 100% to one post. I am wanting to understand the steemit system more so I can better interact. Had I known, I too might have given this a 100% vote. It is lovely @gric. This post taught me so much with regard to under-painting and process. So inspired. Thank you!

This is one of my favourite works of yours. =)
Upvoted, resteemed.

Thanks Leo!

I love seeing the different stages! Every stage (even the first) is interesting and beautiful on its own, so I can see why you'd find it difficult to change it.

Thank you!

You are an inspiration! The textures are exquisite and I'm lost in all the details.

Thank you!

that's a beautiful painting thanks for sharing all the steps and keep on posting ;)

Thank you!

Simply stunning textures and color. I love seeing other artists work and how they come to the final work. The process is sometimes as fascinating as the art itself. I look forward to following you and seeing more of your work.♥

Thank you!

I love this picture. Well done sir! Liked and followed. :)

Thank you!

Very lively painting with beautiful colours

That is TALENT!

Im speechless, it's amazing !

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46