🎨 Nexus V - original painting

in #art7 years ago


Nexus V, 2004
Acrylic on fiberboard
25 x 20 cm / 9.84 x 7.87 in
Private collection / Austria

Details

Thanks for upvoting and commenting!


www.gric.at

Sort:  

I see this painting in the light of left-right symbolism. Why? Because the whole power of the painting is placed in her hair - a beautiful woman with her hair caught.
In many cultures hair is seen as a symbol of strength. Such a high regard for hair gives the significance to any hair sacrifices. Here we see that captivity of her hair captured the whole woman and it looks like she surrendered. The same time her posture and softness of her head shows that it is her choice and she is well with it. Knowing that the whole happens on her left side, it becomes more interesting. The left side symbolizes a more elevated, improved position. Since the left hand is nearer to the heart, it is more majestic and superior. It is also feminine and intuitive side. In Leonardo’s Mona Lisa, she smiles on the left side, but not the right, and also turns to her left.
By her choice, she didn’t lose neither her strength nor her beauty. Her confidence in the choices she makes makes her both beautiful and strong at the same time. As the left side is also a symbol of the subconscious, her posture suggests a balance between the world of reality and the world of symbols and archetypes. Beautiful message and great art .

I have learned a bit about symbolism here, especially in the art realm. Powerful Interpretation. You have given a significant story to the backside of this painting.

Thank you. :)

Thank you Mirjana for this interpretation! Even though I usually do not consciously encode any symbolism into my paintings, I'm asking myself sometimes if maybe by subconsciousness does. Because many of my old paintings make much more sense to me today than they did in the past.

Entangled by her own pursuits. Her body language does not look apathetic to me, but rather feminine and strong. Knowing if you will...

And her gaze (if you can call it that with the wires coming from her eyes) is straight on. Face is relaxed. She is neither begging for rescue nor ashamed of her predicament.

This is fantastic. 🙏🏽

Thank you so much @steemed-open!

she don't look worried ..

It's either surrender or apathy...

The painting is vibrant and relative to current world strife.

Beautiful. Congrats!

I love figural work and this is breathtaking. And I know I always say it, but I mean it: I LOVE your colour palette, it's like a desert dream. I'm resteeming this one!

Thank you Donna!

Wow... the symbolism in this painting is amazing. The hair/power metaphor and 'the goddess' (?) and how she is tangled up in it. Just wow... You know a painting or work of art is awesome when you can't look away from the imagery and you want to keep studying it. (Upvoted and followed).

That's a bloody beautiful piece of work, @gric. And the texture in it only helps.

Thank you! I love that song!

Unfortunately I'm unable to draw and paint. But I admire all people who can create such awesome artwort like yours! Via Steemit sometimes wonderful paintings come directly into my sight. Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49