🎨 How I prime my canvases (tutorial)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

In this short tutorial I show you how I prime my canvases.

01.gif

Even though I'm using pre-primed linen I ground them with Acrylic Gesso to get a smooth surface.

02.gif

A foam roller is a great tool to get the Gesso evenly on the canvas. The roller gives you a quite a rough texture and to smoothen this out I use a broad soft brush. Since Gesso is drying quite fast this has to happen quicky within a few minutes.

03.gif

Now I put a second layer on it, but this time I use a rubber squeegee to fill it in. On the third layer then I use a smaller plastic squeegee.

04.gif

After the Gesso is dry I use a fine waterproof sandpaper to smooth it all out.
05.gif


You can see the whole preparation video here:


Thanks for upvoting and commenting!


www.gric.at

Sort:  

You are an excellent teacher . Thank you ver much for the perfect share

how lovely video

Thank you!

never realized how much prep work went into a canvas before a single drop of actual paint got applied. thanks for the info!!

It's actually not such a big deal if you know how to do it.

Wow, never imagine it would take this much work just to prepare the canvas.

I thought you would just buy the canvas and paint on it xD

Very useful post. Thank you.

I’m reallt confused what kind of gesso do you get that dries that fast? Either that or Im forgetting to even out the sides which I like the dripping edges of them. But I never gesso any canvas unless I can let it dry for at least an hour between coats, unless I’m getting discount brand that isn’t really gesso 😂

So I knew there was some work involved getting a canvas onto a frame (my daughter likes painting on canvas on occasion but we usually just get pre-stretched ones from an art suppy place), had no idea there was more prep work that needed to/could be done O_O

Doesn't look like it took you that long despite the size of the canvas, guess it's something that gets easier with practice? Also nice workspace you have there :)

goatsig

That's awesome! I love seeing processes like these! Traditional art rocks (ノ゚0゚)ノ~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62