Smell

in #art6 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/gp3-smell-iwilpewk-1538809629546.png

I've always wondered why smelling something familiar causes the most intense memory response in me. Everything smells - laundry drying, meat cooking, asphalt in the summer sun, a sleeping baby's hair, that certain someone.

Nasty or nice, scents permeate the air. But why do some of them throw me into melancholy or a bone deep happiness? Sounds and sights can bring me back too, but something about a smell opens the flood gates of memory.

Watermelon still warm from the vine, a book-filled library on a rainy afternoon, a sea of funeral flowers, mulling spices bubbling away on top of the stove - all plunge me into my past, briefly, viscerally. Past moments of my life demanding some time in my present.

// Mini Moments Collection, 3”x3”, acrylic on canvas, 2018. // 👉🏻 www.guilloperez3.com

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66303.73
ETH 3592.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61