Beep Boop Whistle - Modeling R2-D2 in Modo

in #art6 years ago

My love for Star Wars, the characters and vehicles spurred me on to start recreating the lovable droid R2-D2 in Modo yesterday. Here's my progress so far.

7.PNG

As usual I gathered lots of reference pictures and dropped them in to PureRef - a great reference tool for artists. R2 can't be that hard, right? I mean, he's basically a cylinder with half a sphere on top - along with some legs. That's what I thought.

1.PNG

Using reference pictures in Modo, I sketched out the basics. It's unmistakably R2-D2. Then I started making all the blue panels on the head, added more detail to the legs and used booleans to cut shapes out of the geometry where the legs connect to the feet.

2.PNG

3.PNG

Here I created the blocks that sit on the inside of the feet, copied and used that to cut out the curved shapes, again using booleans. I also created the housing for the front 'eye'.

4.PNG

At this point I decided to separate the panels from the head and to recreate the dome with decent topology. I was getting render errors where I had previously added extra edge loops in order to create the panels. Next I added the lens for the main visual sensor.

5.PNG

Next I set about modeling the swiveling second visual sensor on the front. I cut a hole into the head dome - using booleans - and then tidied up the geometry. I try to keep to producing triangles and quads throughout. Once that sensor was created, I duplicated it and moved it in position on the top rear of the head.

6.PNG

I then exported the model as an OBJ and imported it in to Keyshot to do a test render. I threw some basic materials on it and rendered the following picture.

untitled.42.jpg

Yes, he looks a little bare right now as I have not tackled the paneling on the main body, but I think he's coming along nicely.

Thanks for looking.



Spam comments WILL receive a flag, you have been warned.


Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

Sweet! And seems like it will be done soon already :D
I'm huge sucker for all of the cute star wars characters xD

I love 3D work. I love your lighting and modelling too. It's a particularly great high to anticipate a rendering after modelling a piece. I created this little character called "OTIS" some years ago in 3DS Max. Followed and upvoted!

()
Otis Ribbon-2.jpg

Awesome job. Fun character.

Thanks for the comment! Gives me a great boost! Gotta get back to 3D work again. Its so intense and the results are always a rush!

cool printing it would be cool after this , i love star wars

Hopefully I can get a 3D printer some time in the future.

If that only took 5 hours you could probably have a career doing this stuff. Do you?

No, just a hobby.

Nice work!

Just found your post thanks to the Pimp Your Post Thursday show.

How long did it take you to do this modeling?

I started this yesterday.

Wow! I'm OCD about attention to detail, and this post makes me happy.

Same here. Glad it makes you happy :-)

You make it look so simple! Certainly looks like a naked R2D2 to me. Have you used 3D Studio Max? In high school I had a friend who was starting to use it. When I worked in Audio Post Production I learned just how difficult and valuable 3D modeling and rendering was to make all those blockbuster movies. Those were well sought after jobs, for good reason. Anyway, thanks for the interesting post.

Am glad l never missed this..its great..l really dont do movies but this has made me crave for one tonight..thanks always @gmuxx

I've told you how much it fills me with joy when you make 3D models out of Star Wars stuff right? Cause I do. Keep up the awesome work, Muxxy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58