You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Yard Art, Art, or Not?

in #art6 years ago

I'm going to have to go around our yards and see what we still have. There's been an angel, a small house, a picture of a sun I think, and maybe something else. I don't know that I've ever considered them art. Decorations maybe. Not so necessary, definitely.

Aside from the very heavy angel statue, I don't there's any stories behind them. I'm fine with them there, I'm fine if they're not.

Sort:  

I'll bet there is a story with them. Angels do not usually end up in a garden without a related story.

I would not classify mine as art, either, but I do like having them there to jog my memory. That adds to the peace of being here.

Yes, the angel statue does have a story. It was a gift from a friend who is also a former employee. She is a very spiritual, I would say, and so she went with an angel. It's one of the heavier garden decorations I've ever ran across. I'm the one that has to move it anywhere. I'm not remembering what the occasion was for the gift. Maybe my wife's birthday? I don't know. :)

That's a good story! She obviously valued your friendship to get such a large, heavy gift.
There is a story with everything, even if it no more than "I found it on the street." With a bit of embellishment, it can become a yarn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46