TIL: My Drawing and Writing Skills Are Better Than My Singing Aspirations.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

A good friend and colleague of mine retired this week. I doodled this poem for her on an A3 card.

I was a little apprehensive about giving it to her. My friends don't generally know about my late night doodlings and ramblings.

One thing that the playback setting on Singstar taught me is- Just because you enjoy doing it, it doesn't necessarily mean you are good at it, or other people should be exposed to it.

Singstar also fed my grandiose delusions of stardom. You don't have to be good to win, trust me. If you yell the loudest, it doesn't even matter if you don't know the words and are completely out of tune. I had similar fears about my little doodle offering.

But I gave it to her, and I think it was well received.

I forgot to get a finished shot. The above progress shots were taken by @azurejasper as I scribbled, and he tinkered with his new camera


She sent me this one. Not a brilliant reproduction, but I wanted to share my latest bicscrawling anyway.


To My Darling Jan

I attempted to narrate in verse,
A farewell to one damn fine nurse.

A tiny, cute and lovely person,
With an equal dose of fierce assertion.

To chronicle such a luminary,
Who’s sometimes sweet and sometimes scary.

Can I really detail such a vision?
A unique, distinct juxtaposition.

At first you scared me like no other,
I now love you as my mother.

The list of people you’ve cared for,
Impossible to name them all.

Each one of them they do recall,
The nurse who helped them most of all.

With your distinctive gentle firmness,
You delivered hope, and restored purpose.

Although you downplay your impact,
Your passion over time is fact.

As hardworking days come to an end,
Rejoice and have great fun my friend.

It’s hard to fathom Jan-less Densley,
Your absence will be felt immensely.

Beautiful colleague, mentor, friend,
My fondest farewell I do send.


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.50 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85