Reverse garbage depot. My inspirational treasure trove.

in #art7 years ago

I love going to our local Reverse Garbage centre.

I have a number of creative projects on the go at the moment sourced from this centre.

IMG_20171119_134338.jpg

So many ideas half realised.

They all have one concept in common. They are created using discarded material.

IMG_20171119_134359.jpg

Reverse garbage has an array of refuse often donated from local businesses.

Anything from cork bottle tops, to giant reels and palates just waiting to be converted into furniture, or fabrics, reams of paper, and art supplies.

IMG_20171119_134348.jpg

Although I don't get out much, last time I went there I noticed there was a huge number of woven promotional bags that were brand spankingly new. No doubt from seminars or business ventures that were never realised.

I decided to liberate these bags

I hope to create my own line of hand stitched totes.

Embroidered and mutipocketed cute bags created entirely of discarded, but never used off cuts of fabric, and these pristine boring promo polypropylene bags.

So I filled a shopping bag of off cuts for a total of $5 and left this wonderful community / artistic hub feeling inspired.

IMG_20171119_134414.jpg

These are my first attempts.

PSX_20171118_095730.jpg

They are admittedly a little rough, I'm learning as I go. I think minor imperfections are also part of the charm of a hand made product.


Thanks for checking out my post.

IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

I may appear to be an inconsistent steemian. I am dealing with some health issues that prevent me from doing many things I want to do.

Thank you Steemit for always being here, and for delivering me inspirational people to keep me on track when I need reminding of the things I DO already have, and how lucky I am.

Photos courtesy of reversegarbage. With the exception of my bags. 😊

Sort:  

What a cool idea. We have some recycle centers here, but they're mainly for building houses and renovating.

I love your colorful collection so much! I think you are doing it right, as they say. Cheers to much success with your artwork enterprise!!! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83