Is this the real thing? More inktober scribblings.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Day 18

Bottle.

PSX_20181018_163235.jpg

IMG_20181018_163746.jpg

PSX_20181018_163525.jpg

Is this the real thing?

I'd like to do so many things
Care for the one's I love,

Stand in my garden in the breeze
As rain falls from above,

Perchance I'd recall how to sing
No care for harmony,

I far flung wish from where I am
Void of all company,

Is this the real thing?
Have we no other thing
Of which that we could sing?
In hope that we may bring
Some hope to give our kin
Here were it's never spring
Where the sun can't shine in
No gallant prince or king
No cavalry rush in
No hope on which to cling
The phone it ceased to ring
Just desperate scrawled writing
Note in a bottle fling
Slim chance that it will bring
A change to anything...

Is this what the world wants today
Is this the real thing,
If this is all it really is
Is it still worth the fighting.


With the Bottle theme, I couldn't resist a couple of stanzas of the Coca-Cola ballad.

@quillfire taught me to structure a ballad using the Coca-Cola jingle from the 70s.

It works.

A little too well. They are great marketers. Proceed with caution, you will be stuck with it.
IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Sort:  

Did you ever consider selling your drawings? I really like them and I think people would buy them as prints. You have a really unique style. I am no expert but I find them appealing. Not only because of your poetry or that I learnt about your struggle, but bc they stand out on their own.

@quillfire taught me to structure a ballad using the Coca-Cola jingle from the 70s.

giphy (3).gif

Wow I love your style! You should enter in the weekly #cartoon-off contest that I run for a chance at winning your share of 25 Steem in prizes. =)

I was thinking about it. I haven't drawn for a while, I tend to cycle through different distractions, writing, scribbling #bicscrawl, crocheting, crafting.
The calibre of cartooning on steemit is pretty high.
I must add Iove all the "stupid crap." It's like you've gone round my home taking pictures of my treasure.

Haha glad you like it! I try to make fun contests. Your house must be pretty interesting =p
As far as the "calibre of cartooning," we judge by content, not by drawing skill, and have had first time entrees win. If you look at the contest, you will also see that we have 2 new categories: for "no text/caption" meaning any drawing could win it, as well as "caption this" where all you have to do is think up a clever caption for the provided piece of artwork.

@girlbeforemirror,

I'm laughing my ass off. Perhaps you should send your rendition to Coke. A "Millennial Version" of the classic. Who knows.

What Coke knows is that Common Measure (in music ... Ballad Meter in poetry) is "common" for a reason. The simple and symmetrical patterns of meter, rhythm and rhyme set off very powerful neurochemicals in our brains. There is a lot of science behind the "Art."

I can't see the images ... this is getting old. I will be back in the morrow.

Quill

@girlbeforemirror,

OK, now I can see them. I love them. I think you could make a lot of money in advertising. You're a very clever creature and, unlike me, your creativity spans several art forms. I can't even whistle. What you just created was called a "Storyboard."

Perhaps we could think of a way to sell some ... wool.

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23