Hideous Turkey DoodlesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

The most hideous of all the birds we encountered on our Farm-stay was definitely the Turkey.

That shrivelled, wrinkly, jowly red head and neck!

But I vowed to seek the beauty in order to challenge my ornithophobia. So I focused on it's impressive tail plume, and greatly minimised the tiny head.

This is what I came up with. What do you think?

Of course, as usual I drew it with my trusty ball point pen. My husband gave me forty of them for christmas :)

I tried to focus less on the head, it's very scary. But the feathers are quite lovey. I can't believe I'm saying that, but they are.

News of my actual holding of a bird will follow soon.

It is time to head home and back to reality.

Goodbye farm and beach, and nature...and huge house, with enormous spa bath and air-con.

Hello apartment, traffic, shift work and long hot summer nights.


Original drawing by @girlbeforemirror. The photo is from pixabay, but it bears a striking resemblance. I will upload my own when I arrive home. Thanks for stopping by

Sort:  

Wow that turkey sure is beautiful :) Looking forward to hearing about how holding the bird went. My biggest fear is driving. Had 50 driving lessons, but still was a nervous wreck, so it's been on permanent hold for a few years!

Oh my god, I think you are my soul sister.
Driving is my next demon...I mean Bravehearts challenge.
I did one lesson last year as a Bravehearts promotion/challenge. But cancelled the second one. I have put it off all my life. In a few more years my eldest child will be driving me around.

Great work, I love the drawing!

Thank you @shortcut. A compliment from you is valuable to me, you know I'm a big fan.

That's awesome, thank you for reminding me :-) I can honestly say that I'm a fan of your work, too.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.43 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57515.20
ETH 2438.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34