Discover Your Body Week 2 Entry. Lower Leg.

in #art6 years ago

@yoganarchista launched a new contest last week.

Starting from the feet up, it is an art contest that challenges you to draw a part of your body.

As I approach this contest I am not just looking to reproduce something that vaguely resembles the area of the body. I hope to consciously give it some consideration, and appreciate it's function.

Last week when we drew feet I mentioned I have Ehlers danlos syndrome.

It causes problems for my connective tissue.

With reference to my lower legs I have instability in my ankles and arthritis. I've also had small stress fractures and experience shin splint problems from time to time from walking.

I have learnt from physios to strap my ankles in ankle locks, and wrap my legs to ease the pain of shin splints.

PSX_20180201_141332.jpg

This is a challenging contest.

A study of self.
Thank you @yoganarchista for setting the challenge.
https://steemit.com/discoveryourbody/@yoganarchista/win-sbds-discover-your-body-art-contest-2-lower-leg

Last week @yoganarchista put the multiple entries together in a dtube video.

Check out the post. I hope it will inspire you to join the movement.
https://steemit.com/discoveryourbody/@yoganarchista/uf1paxed


IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Sort:  

Shin splints are the worst. I used to get them from jumping rope training for tennis. Also, tennis elbow ain’t no joke either!

Yes, they are both things I heard people reference but never gave them credit for how bad they were, they were just words to me. The tennis elbow is bursitis I think, which I've had in my knees, terrible! So tender. Nothing funny about that elbow.
I didn't know that the bumps of pain I always had were shin splints, I had to completely wipe myself out with stress fractures to learn to listen to my body.
Very often people with connective tissue disorders are taught from a young age that their pain is not significant. I have done a lot of learning lately.
Thanks for commenting in a relevant way, it's rare at the moment. I appreciate it.

Really interesting take in the leg there. Love it. Deserves my steem a worth ;-)

Thanks. I wanted to make it personal and real, and use an opportunity to mention a common but under diagnosed and often misdiagnosis and mismanaged problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69