ART EXPLOSION WEEK 26 Entry. VINTAGE.

in #art6 years ago

This is my entry for @juliakponsford epic weekly art contest #artexplosion.

PSX_20180204_045744.jpg

This week's theme Vintage, drew me to the idea of The Art Nouveau poster style.

I haven't attempted this kind of art before.

I do love the style.

The art Nouveau poster found appreciation as fine art in France in 1890s when the style was used in advertising for the Moulin Rouge.

IMG_20180204_051927.jpg

Although by the 1900 the repetition of the medium and the advertising industry saw it's appeal as a recognised art depreciate.

The lithograph gave artists an access to bright colour and graphic combination for the first time.

This style of portrait, combined with a decorative border and lettering was my inspiration for this entry.

IMG_20180204_044706.jpg

IMG_20180204_044726.jpg


My process, while attempting to replicate the look, was not at all a printing process.

I drew a rough draft.

PSX_20180204_045948.jpg

Then once I gained some confidence I used ink.

PSX_20180204_050023.jpg

Then finished with water colour.

PSX_20180204_045744.jpg

I am a usually a doodling drawer with pencil or pen.
In the past I have favoured different types of pastels, soft or oil. But I have limited experience painting.

I feel I lose control of the medium.

Although I only used the paint at the end of the piece, I'm pleased to have had a go, and mixed it up a bit.


Thanks for checking it out. Join the fun.

Here is the contest link.


IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Info source and Moulin Rouge poster thanks to internationalposter.com, other 2 images from pixabay.

Sort:  

Congratulations on your win! Well deserved. And you have a new follower as well, I love meeting other artists this way, @juliaponsford is amazing in making these connections possible.

To be considered an artist by people such as yourself and @juliaponsford is something I am hoping I can become adjusted to and live up to.
It has been a while since I used my creative side. I only now find the time for it due to illness preventing me from doing my usual job. It is almost a year since I stopped working. I have been dabbling with creative projects to keep a sense of purpose, and maybe slowly in that time I have uncovered something.

Your work is beautiful. My goal is to move from doodling to finished works. I never complete things, just half imagine them and post.
Thank you for your encouragement. The steemit community support has given value to my otherwise isolated situation.
Your message alone a gift to me today.
Thank you x

Ooh I love this you captur d the style so well, it has kind of a fortune teller carnival vibe but classier, thanks for participating!

Funny that you got a carnival vibe, I considered going for vintage circus then decided against it. A bit too freaky when I looked at the poster art. But I must have channelled it anyway. They have period poster that are collectable treasures in their own right.

Oh wow, this is absolutely beautiful. I love this time period and the colors and linework you have going on are incredible. Followed. Can’t wait to see more!

Hey there: Friendly circle around to say that I loved this so much I featured it in a little write up I had to do today as ‘homework’ for a writers group I am a part of. :) See you around.

Woaaah! You are really great at arts. I loved the color combinations as well. Great job on implicating the vintage art style. Though it was your first, I 'd say you did pretty good

Thank you lovely friend. You are so kind to me.

Oh this is lovely. Doesn't look like your first attempt. I think being passionate about something does help you do well at it even if it is for the first time at a certain medium.

You are always so encouraging and positive. Such a beauty to have you on steemit spreading good vibes. X

Aww that's so nice of you to say that. There are soo many people who inspire me to be more compassionate towards others. I was positive before too, but the many wodnerful people I have found here have motivated me to be even better. Thanks for all the lovely words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52