Are nonwoven polypropylene shopping bags the green alternative they claim to be?

in #art7 years ago (edited)

We have a mountain of them.

I have a plan to upcycle these ugly boring bags.

IMG_20170921_141932.jpg

When we plan a Shopping trip of course we take them with us.

But life is busy and seldom planned.

So we grab a couple to get our purchases home.

As plastic is phased out and impulse shopping lags behind. Are these enviro bags all they are stacked up to be?

Some Australian studies indicate that they need to be used at least one hundred times, then dropped off at the supermarket for recycling.

They wear out long before that figure.

The plastic poly product is 100% recyclable IN AUSTRALIA... YAY!

But only after they are shipped to China to have the stitching removed, then shipped back!

Wt...?


So I decided to try to upcycle them into cute tote bags.

In the hopes that they may live a little longer.

IMG_20170921_140607.jpg

IMG_20170921_140549.jpg

IMG20170911141616.jpg

I enjoy doing these things.

After I couldn't get to work anymore, I had so many ideas about things I wanted to do instead.

Not necessarily for financial gain (although that sure would be nice.) But to occupy and distract myself.

It is becoming increasingly hard to even do these little things.

My mind is still full of them, which makes me feel restless.

So that is why I need to go back to hospital.

Because my mind has too many plans and this body needs to realise that we are not giving up.


IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Sort:  

thats literally awesome ..... i liked the creativity behind that craft

Never give up, never surrender!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64