Dip Spray Paint Method

in #art6 years ago (edited)


I heard stories of this working. We had to try it out.

Last fall Dim Media artist member Joe got married. As part of his wedding décor we sculpted animal heads to be hung on the gallery walls (he got married at an art gallery).

IMG_8734.JPG

IMG_8737.JPG

Using multiple gauge wires we constructed a skeletal framework build off a pine board base. I hadn’t worked in the 3D realm since 2002 college sculpture class. It all started coming back and I remembered how enjoyable the method of building was. It’s fun working different materials with my hands.

IMG_8767.JPG

I left them at that and let Joe take over the final process he envisioned: papier-mâché and glossy white paint.

Pre-wedding night we hung them.

IMG_7697.JPG

The bride kept a couple for herself. The rest went back to the Dim Studio where yesterday we tinkered an idea.

IMG_8743.JPGThe two test subjects.

Over the last couple years spray paint has been added to Dim Media’s arsenal of painting styles and medium. But not in this method: the dip technique.



Instant gratification!

IMG_8749.JPG

IMG_8757.JPG

IMG_8760.JPG

Sadly our bucket of water was not big or deep enough to submerge the entire head in. Back to the hardware store…

And back to the studio to build some more.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yo, this is sick! The head turned out really well, regardless of the depth issue. This looks really fun, I'll have to try it out sometime. Thanks for the idea

Yeah man, thanks. It turned out better than we were expecting. Deep to dip-dunk everything!!!!!!!

nice, i've seen this technique used on motorbike parts before, definitely a knack to it but you seemed to have pulled it off

Maybe beginners luck. Needs more practice to perfect the dunk skill.

Thanks a bundle. This is a wonderful post I have seen <3

You know it 👍

It's really an art, it requires hardwork and dedication, this method of colouring is unique.

I did not know him, I must try it absolutely...wow!!

Oh wow! I think I like this technique. Adds texture to whatever is dipped.

I highly recommend trying it out. Blew our minds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64