Dreaming of becoming an artist #3

in #art7 years ago

In previous posts you can see a painting portraying my brother and one of a dog owned by family members.

Here is a painting I've made of my father. Underneath it I will put the picture I have used as a reference. I am satisfied with the result but comparing the picture with the painting now I would've probably made the lower lip a bit lighter. Funny how you can be stuck in a painting because you've looked at it for hours and not see it objectively but much later, you can.

I like to give my paintings a bit of a 'cartoon/colourfol' look, I'm a big fan of magic realism and would love to make some conceptual artwork in that genre

Please let me know what you guys think of it!

10368820_621815811248783_8850586653145111964_o (2).jpg
Acrylic painting 40x50cm

Gerrit.jpg

Sort:  

ı thınk very similar but painting younger than picture.

Thank you for your comment!
Yes, now that you point it out I guess so. I tried to keep on the safe side regarding the wrinkles. It was a present and a surprise and in those cases it might be preferable to polish things a bit. It might be a good challenge to make a portrait of an old person and really try to get the details right. I've made a portrait of myself, what I might look like in 40 years. Will post it later, please let me know what you think of it, if you have the time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44