Drawing Daenerys Targaryen (Khaleesi) - The Mother of Dragons

in #art6 years ago

DQmd7Z5gYDPmtH1os6hUEUxqLdmCQCv1XBNMFCrntPz9fFE.jpg
I want to challenge myself I want to try and draw something that's quite detailed. Right from the start had an idea of how I wanted to go about composing this image and normally I would create some rough thumbnail sketches to give myself a few ideas. I started off by making a really rough preliminary sketch and started to plan out where I wanted everything.DQmaNyuKrWLGDLsGC2mKsSPS8gjtskemrkpUbWFdj43L1Jm.jpg
It was difficult to draw out such a small scale and create those details but I just carefully work out where to place the marks with the pencil and eventually it all comes together.
DQmQxHnJhK7fkY8xtj2o75uredEWaGx6RJG5FEuaqzds1jk_1680x8400.jpg
Perhaps one of the most challenging things with this drawing specifically, was to draw in the eyes correctly. I had to make sure I was using a sharp pencil so that I could be more accurate.
DQmcvZJL1ADdeAsucDbB89G8bfxK6ZkCqWNCH4hhDbZF3Rc_1680x8400.jpg
I tried to draw in the majority of her surroundings first so that I was confident with the proportions. I'm using a 4b charcoal pencil. I was able to get a range of different pencil shades and turns just by changing the pressure I apply to the paper.
DQmcukD86HJvR2EEBc3QRa4GRLpYHnssqF3Jv8F4M1RCco7_1680x8400.jpg
DQmd7Z5gYDPmtH1os6hUEUxqLdmCQCv1XBNMFCrntPz9fFE.jpg
The overall drawing had taken me a long time to finish about eight hours, so quite a while to finish but I really enjoy the process of creating them and doing something different once in a while.
Upvote and Comment below for your chance to win some SBD. The winner will be announced on my next post Thank you and good luck!
U5dsyc9hKwUMtYEBZBdhKJPv381WfZU_1680x8400.jpg
The winner of my last post @gerard.oneway

Sort:  

Hey @gerard.oneway, nice post! I've developed a better appreciation for art and photos, so it's nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57651.10
ETH 2377.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42