The call of the long night, and Her Name was Justice

in #art7 years ago


Hello people of steemit! This is the second part of  my story "The call of  the long night". Hope that you enjoy it. Have fun!!

 Warriors of the dark, abyssal, long night are in several corners of the world. You can’t see them. They are hiding in plain sight. They are shadows of light. Guardian angles of ideas and values. The night of the call was long for her.

Her chosen name was Justice. What they call her in her mortal life doesn’t matter. She lived in Europe and was moving from country to country. Keeper of justice, as she was, she lived with the expectation to reach out for a better world. A fair, equal world. As she met vampire philosophers and warriors during the long night, no one met her expectations. She was looking for a mentor and companion. As all the romantic hearted vampires.

 She was fighting injustice for years. Night by night, she was feeling more and more weak in front of the dark forces of this world. In front of the greatness of the love for power and cruelty to the innocent. As she moved from city to city, the last couple of years she was observing the turn of events without fighting. She was thinking of the dark side. She was from the clan of assassins, an Assamite. She knew the art of assassination as her hands. Martial arts where at the top of her list and she were at the top masters of them.

 She were in Barcelona the night that she met him. She was standing at the top of tall building, looking down the night lights. Thinking about a solution. Feeling lonely, a fraction of despair come to her heart. Why she is there? What if Justice hasn’t a place in this world? Should she sale her soul and become a monster? After all she was a vampire.  
She remembered the time she was a mortal. She never fell in love. She always was dreaming about it. No one she met provoked her heart. She remembered her parents. Never understand her. Never was there for her. Then she thought about her training in the east. Martial arts, self-control and dark arts specialized in assassination was all she had. She read books. About how to recognize and read human reactions.

 When she left the ranks of Assamites, clan of vampires specialized in assassination, she was alone and bounted. She didn’t care. She started her trips to the world as she had nothing to lose. Her heart didn’t beat anymore. So she considered herself dead. A red tear came out of her eye, embracing her loneliness.   

Then a deep male voice came from the shadows behind her: “You remind me of a person from a long forgotten timeline”.  

She got up too quickly and got out her katana sword.

 “I’m not here to kill you, Justice. I’m here to offer you something”, the deep voice said.  

“Show yourself. Why don’t I see you? Who the fuck are you?”, she respond.  

The shadows in front of her started to wrap around the abyss and a young vampire appeared in front of her. “My name is Plato, but it doesn’t matter. What matters is my intention”, he said.

 “You are watching me?”, she respond in anger.  

“I am watching you from the day I saw you”, he said.  

“What do you want from me?”, she asked and raised her weapon to his throat.   

He looked down her sword and the sword broke.

“What the fuck are you?”, she shouted. “Are you a vampire?”  

He looked right into her eyes and said nothing. She heard his voice in her head “Calm yourself down. Breath if necessary”.

 She started to breathe using her powers to do so. As vampires don’t breath, they spend their blood in order to obtain human functions.  

“The feeling of being a human will always calm us down”, he said smiling.  

“What do you want from me? Where are you from? What brings you near me?”, she asked as she was breathing deeply.

 “What brings me near you I hope to find before I live the final night of my life. I come from a place I don’t remember quite well. I don’t want something from you except some time with you. You see you are more than a vampire with a romantic, broken heart”, he started to explain.  

“How do you know how I feel? Are you a… Malkavian?”, she asked.  

“Yes, I come from this clan, but it doesn’t really matter”, he answered.  

“I met a Malkavian before. He was out of his mind. Why should I spent my time with you?”, she returned.

 “I’m not here to persuade you about what I am and what can I do. I’m not here to give you reasons to admire me or follow me. I’m here to give you piece of mind in your cause against the dark forces of this world. I’m here to show you a road you never saw. The choice is yours to take it or not”, he respond.

 She looked him into his eyes. She was furious. But something was calming her down. Was it him with his powers? Or was his pure presence there? Was he something evil or good? She wanted to find out. She never experienced something like this.

 Plato took advantage of the pause she made. “I can help you in your cause and you can help me in mine”, he said.  

“What is your cause?”, she reciprocated.

 “I want to end the war between darkness and light”, he respond. “I want to see you thrive in your fight for justice, Justice”, he conclude with a smile.  

“Why you want to do such a thing? Darkness and light will find eternally”, she said.

 “I guess the only way to find out is to give it a try and see what happens. After all we are immortals now who are trying to find their place in this world. You found out yours and I found out mine”, he answered.  

Justice looked down.   

“You don’t even remember why you are doing this. The only thing you know is that your heart tells you to fight for justice. Just like your heart tells you right now that I’m not just a philosopher with a dead philosopher’s name”, he smiled.  

“If we are going to do this, you are not going to see inside my soul again”, she said. For the first time in her life she started to feel warm in her heart.  

“I can’t control it. I don’t use my dark gifts to do so. I don’t look for it. I just look in people’s eyes. I’m afraid I carry this burden since I was a child. This is something you have to accept. I can promise you though that I won’t speak about your feelings if u don’t want it”, he looked down. “I can understand if you don’t want to continue because of it”, he conclude.  

She saw his reaction and a small smile formed in her face. She never saw a vampire feeling this way before. She saw him feeling sad about himself. She thought that the gift he had was beautiful.  

“Where do we start? And how?”, she accepted his call.  

When he looked at her with a smile, she was no longer smiling.  

 “Athens, Greece. We are going to find some answers in the place we were born as mortals”, he said.  


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39