I paint plastic toy soldiers!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Yup.. saying it out loud or writing it down doesn't exactly make it sound any better but it is what it is.. that is what I do!

In today's post I'd like to share with you one of my very first painting commissions or at least a part of it I have recorded in photos. It isn't the best since it was in my early days as a miniature painter but it is interesting for me to see how much I've evolved and how my painting style has changed throughout time. Hope you enjoy the little fellas and the little information about the models and the painting on them.

2014-11-09-19-54-40.jpg

So this was for a friend of mine - a Space Orc army for the Warhammer 40k game. It is a very fun army to pain since Orcs and Goblins have always been the race bringing a bit of humour to the pretty dark world of Warhammer. They believe in things and the things happen simply because of that very much like in the Terry Pratchett's Disc World. They salvage everything they get their hands on and all of their equipment and vehicles are made from scraps as you would see in the photos. They use goblins as their workers and think of them as quite insignificant.

For a reference purposes here is a photo of another goblin that I've painted a bit later on, just so you can see how small the miniatures are.

IMG_3029.JPG

2014-10-24-18-56-33.jpg
2014-11-09-19-50-47.jpg
2014-11-09-19-53-39.jpg
2014-11-09-19-55-19.jpg
These are some of the goblins from a pirate crew that are called 'Ammo runts' and well.. it is quite obvious what they do.. they carry the ammo.

Barruk.jpg
2014-10-24-19-14-24.jpg
This is the Captain Badrukk, the leader of the pirate crew.

2014-11-09-19-56-26.jpg
2014-11-09-19-58-51.jpg
2014-11-09-20-00-32.jpg
That is a part of the crew called Flash Gitz. They are smoking cuban cigars and holding them big gunz.

IMG_0712.jpg
IMG_0714.jpg
This big thing is called The Battlewagon or as we called it the Rubish Truck. It is quite big and made out of scraps, orks use it for transportation and to ram into stuff. I did paint 3 of these in total and became quite good at painting rust effects, dirt and battle damage by the end of finishing all of these ork vehicles.

IMG_0728.jpg
IMG_0732.jpg
IMG_0734.jpg
This is another transportation truck.

IMG_0847.jpg
These Killer Khans are little funny robots. Quite like their poses.

IMG_0848.jpg
IMG_0849.jpg
This one is called Deff Dread and is one of the bigger more elite fighting robots the Orks have in their arsenal.

As I am looking at these models today I see so many details and highlights I've missed, things I could've done a lot better but that is part of the growing. Without going trough this process I wouldn't have learned everything I have. Practice and research is the key for everything.

The paints I used for these models were all from the Citadel paint range and I've been using a lot of them throughout the years and keep doing so. The technique I used for painting these I explained in my previous post about miniature painting which you can see here: https://steemit.com/art/@george-topalov/some-of-my-work-as-a-commission-painter
It is a technique I used quite a lot in my early works which includes spraying the models in black and then giving a second pre shade coat with a complimentary colour to the base you are about to use. In this case it was red because most of the model is covered in green and it also gives a nice rust effect under the metallic colours. Then I put some highlights using colours that will pop up and make interesting mixes(yellow, white in this case) and finally I give it a very thin coat of the base colour. It worked pretty well and it makes the whole process quite fast once you get the hold of it but it can be tricky. Again - practice is key!

Thanks for checking my blog out! If you enjoyed it you can follow me, upvote and comment (I reply almost all the time, feel free to ask stuff). Will have more of these coming and some tutorials in the future! Have a productive week and see you in the next post!

Sort:  

This is stunning. Youre doing something very right!

Thank you very much! :)

These look great, seems like a satisfying hobby.

Thanks! It is quite nice seeing them come to life out of plastic or metal bits

these are some great figurines.

inspired by Blizzard?

Thanks! Not really inspired by blizzard, had one army I painted for someone that was inspired by Star Craft but it was requested to be done like that. One of my best friends is a painting for Blizzard though. :)

Wow! Beautiful stuff @george-topalov, you are very talented..!😊

Thank you very much! :)

I agree. He is very talented! I used to use these figures to play games like Warhammer 40K. There's definitely a market for the skill of painting them too.

These are incredible! So meticulous!

attention to details always arouses me xD

Beautiful Warhammer minis! I used to paint but now my eyes don't allow me too.

I have the same problem. At 44 my close up vision is quickly deteriorating. :( My steady hand is no longer as steady either!

Thank you very much! That is quite sad to hear though.. It is hard on the eyes sometimes painting them.

awesome dude... nicely done...

Thank you very much! :)

really nice ! you are such a talented per
son :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94