My contribution to Sisters Art Lab - monthlong challenge - March - Impressionism - Vincent van Gogh - Sunflowers

in #art6 years ago

Hello artful souls

This is my entry to @sistersartlab March challenge studying the work and life of Vincent Van Gogh.


In this first week we are looking at his still life paintings so of course his sunflowers come to mind.
I tried to pick one that seemed manageable and also appealed to me, so I opted for one that isn't the most well known.


I considered what medium to use as I obviously wouldn't start an oil painting as that needs a lot of time for the layers to dry so you can't just do it in a couple hours.
I remembered I had these Neocolor II crayons I had bought a while ago but hardly used. They are very vibrant and are water soluble so I decided to give them a try.


The good thing about them is because they are crayons they have a broad tip and you cannot draw little details which I tend to do too much so they force me to simplify which is a very helpful trait in painting.


After I finished the drawing I merged the colours with a wet brush to give the still life more of a painterly feel.
I include both versions as I can't decide which one I prefer.


Again I didn't take process photos, once I'm in the flow, it's hard to stop and snap a picture.


IMG_4321.JPG


If you want to join in the fun, go over to @sistersartlab and check them out.


Until next time

Stay creative!

Yours truly

Geena


IMG_4258.PNG

Sort:  

that is a very good representation of a still life in the style of Van Gogh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17