Casting Silver Rings, Not as Expensive as You May Think!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

If you're a craftsman at heart, I highly encourage you to try creating your own rings. I've always been interested in designing jewelry, but never had the resources to do it. As it turns out, the entire process is a lot cheaper than you may think.

What you need is:

Green Carving Wax (makes about 6 rings) - $11 USD
https://tinyurl.com/y94klkyk

Carving Tools - $10 USD
https://tinyurl.com/y8rfapuc

Considering that a wax tube can (easily) get you 6-8 rings and the carving tools can be used time and time again, the real expenses come from the cost of labour and silver bullion. The entire casting process costed $28 USD on average per ring. Being from Vancouver, I use the company Expert Castings. A quick Google search will find casting place near you.

Here's the starting point.
IMG_0558.JPG

One of my projects. You can't see it yet, but its going to be a great horned owl.
IMG_0560.JPG

Update #2 ready to be casted.
IMG_0565.JPG

Some of my recently completed rings. Always a good conversation starter at the bar #TheGame
IMG_0554.JPG

I collect records, and this was my first creation. Even though it has defects from air bubbles in the casting process, I love it.
IMG_0557.JPG

The hardest part is just coming up with ideas. My next ring I want to incorporate the bitcoin "B" somehow. A lot of my inspiration comes from just searching things on Etsy.com. I've also considered opening an e-commerce shop and selling some too.

Hope you enjoyed reading. If you've got any neat idea's, feel free to comment below

Gayboy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59