How to watercolor

in #art8 years ago (edited)


Good afternoon steemit, I colored this goblin last night and wanted to show you guys the stages
Supplies: any quality watercolor, I used cheap watercolor brushes which are like pretty packaged pens with watercolors, great for fun and sketching.
And some type of paper, the thicker and harder the paper the better.

These are the exact watercolors I used

[http://www.rainbowresource.com/product/Bienfang+Watercolor+Brush+Pen+-+Assorted+13+Pack/053685/1feb62c7492232bc5658e9cc?subject=16&category=10428]

For my sketch I drew a women with her back to me
Then I changed the face to be more goblin/demonic esk and added eyes and rags and other details to for it to be more personal

I've picked a green watercolor for this drawing for the skin to help with the goblin theme, and I've also gotten an orange one for eyes and brown one for rags

I'm adding green where all the dark values in my reference are, and keeping the highlights clear. Remember as you're watercoloring, they dry lighter than they look wet. the more pigment you use, the darker and quicker it dries and the more water you use the longer it takes to dry and the lighter it looks.

I've let it dry and kept adding darker values, and medium values by leaving certain zones alone after a few shades but still making the darker zones darker. I've also added hair and rags with some brown watercolor

I've added a red aura for contrast by outlining the aura with dark pigment and then outline the goblin. And then add some water to the brush and fill in between the lines

I've also put the aura color where the highlights where to help give a glow affect since the aura would reflect onto your skin, ive let everything dry and used some strong lights to take this photo.

Goodluck guys, follow and upvote if you liked it, and stay tuned for more daily guides

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63091.92
ETH 2469.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67