How I painted this illustration in my sketchbook!

in #art8 years ago


Good evening steemit, here's a little guide on this weird fun drawing I worked on

Supplies: sketchbook/piece of paper preferably artist grade paper , hot pressed watercolor paper or design paper.
A slightly wide brush, Wide enough to coat your size paper easily.

(Black ink preferably liquid acrylic ink, but you can use sumi or Indians ink.
Crow quill or something to ink with (micron/brush pen so on, but if you want your lines to have this look u'll have to try a crow quill)

Apply acrylic paint in a soft and even manner, brushing in one direction (all horizontal/all vertical)

I've drawn a demon mask from references in my sketchbook, and free handed organic pattern outlines around the form. When deciding on a "complex" doodle design, the main things you need to keep in mind are,
form, texture, weight, and variation.
The form is the different main shapes than make up the drawings, in this case I chose scales, rocks, bones, and muscles, these also help to set a certain mood. Keep this in mind when planning your drawing.

I've increased my line variety, meaning I made certain lines thicker that represent a 'Heavier' form, if you were drawing a ball with pen you'd make the bottom line very thick to represent it's weight on the ground.

I've filled in the dark values in the patterning,

Because I've chosen a dark value for the background and want to be able to fill it in, I'm going to bold the outline of forms so I don't mess them up when filling in the space, it gives you a tiny bit of leeway

Now I've filled in the background with black ink

I also mixed up a redish orange to repaint the face


-20 year old up&coming artist in Baltimore
-Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gavicrane/
Let me know what you guys think follow and uvote for more daily content

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.40 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41