How to set a mood in an illustration

in #art8 years ago (edited)


Good afternoon steemit, I was working on this piece and though I'd record the last few steps having to do with picking scenery and adding tone.

Here was this rough sketch for this character, I haven't really decorated the scene or anything.

He's in the middle of a forest trying to escape from some hunters, so I've injured him with some arrows, broke one of his swords and just generally weakened him.
I've inked an injured samurai, and now I'm dding in details that add to the mood of the piece

I've added some more foliage, rock formations, and mysterious artifacts.

I've framed the scene with some wood and a fiery moon

And now I'm filling the background with black ink To set the time of day as late at night and
to have that powerful red/black mysterious contrast

Here I've pretty much finished this piece
"Hunt for the magi"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43