How I made this illustration (TL video)

in #art8 years ago


Good evening steemit, I just finished this illustration in my sketchbook last night. and recorded some stuff id like to share
Materials: acrylic paint, crow quill pen, and tape

video-1475441627 from Gavi D. Crane on Vimeo.

video-1475357177 from Gavi D. Crane on Vimeo.

video-1475357094 (1) from Gavi D. Crane on Vimeo.

first i begin by sketching a samurai and altering his face

I then erase as much of the sketch as I can and start inking over top with my crow quill. I went for the outlines and main forms first, I always save details for last.

im continuing the lining and adding some white for character

Now before I add to much detail I'm gonna take a break and add some colors in key locations throughout the piece to break it up.

Now I've used a ruler to pen lines down his clothing to begin a pattern

And some horizontal lines

I've added more color and detail to his outfit

Now I'm at the stage where I've gotten closure to the piece and added small details and contrast to add depth to the piece, like adding folds to cloth

Here you can see my finalized details

If you liked it you can follow and upvote for more daily guides

Sort:  

I am resteeming this.
excellent.

wow thank you so much, glad you like it!!

Great work! Looks Awesome! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58