How I drew this buddha with a twist (guide)

in #art8 years ago (edited)


["Buddha Djinn Equip"4"x6"]
Good morning steemit, last night I banged out a fun illustration and I wanted to share the process with you guys

Supplies: sketchbook/piece of paper preferably artist grade paper , hot pressed watercolor paper or design paper.
A slightly wide brush, Wide enough to coat your size paper easily.

(Black ink preferably liquid acrylic ink, but you can use sumi or Indians ink.
Crow quill or something to ink with (micron/brush pen so on, but if you want your lines to have this look u'll have to try a crow quill)

I started off with applying reddish yellow coat of acrylic in a soft and even manner.

For my main form I drew a Buddha statue head, and some praying hands.

I then built up the detail from skin to muscle to scales.
I wanted it to feel like his essence was falling apart and coming together

I wanted the muscles to stand out so I painted them red to separate them from the golden statue

I've started inking in the dark values and adding contrast which makes everything pop, I also filled out the muscles.
When I draw muscles (which I use a lot to represent tensions/flow) I draw pen lines that merge at a point and overlap, like hair.

Now I have all my dark and light values in place, so I've bolded all the outlines to make sure I can add in the black background without messing up the details.


Good luck guys and let me know if you have any questions or requests.

I also did this illustration based on my arm, because I had a hard time going to sleep

Let me know if you guys would prefer more in depth guides or anything along those lines.

follow and upvote if you liked it, and stay tuned for more daily guides

Sort:  

Thanm you so much!! I was really happy with the way this piece came out

Really liked the living Buddha aspect, especially the essence falling apart and coming together -- thank you! Really like your work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40