How I draw wood (easily explained)

in #art8 years ago (edited)


Good afternoon steemit.
I want to share how I look at drawing wood with you guys.

Supplies: A ruler, or something to assist with making straight line, a pen or tool to ink/draw with.
Possibly paint and a brush depending on the scope of the project you want to take on.

Wood is a fibrous tissue composed of rigid and organic forms.
Parallel lines shows structure and rigid form. If we wanted to draw a really rigid and healthy piece of wood we might use a lot of straight parallel lines, if you want the wood to look older, wilder, and more energetic, you have to use different shapes and forms found in nature

To begin drawing some wood, you'll need to draw some parallel or near parallel lines. Use a ruler with your pen or pencil to make lines a small distance apart

Now I've begun filling in between the lines. Using straight lines, swirls, and scrapes/notches.

Here's some life references photos. When drawing wood find a style of wood online or outside that has an interesting form and shape, I suggest looking at some driftwood

I'm drawing this wood from my imagination so it won't be as wild and detailed as if I was looking at some refrence, but I did want to add some character to the wood with random marks and scrape

Here is that piece of wood finished.

Here are a few more drawings with wood from my sketchbook



If you'd like to add some paint, follow this guide and just draw wood over the paint [https://steemit.com/art/@gavicrane/how-to-doodle-by-hand-with-an-advanced-twist]
Good luck guys and let me know if you have any questions

Sort:  

Thanks its easisr than it looks, give it a try

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41