It's time to show you my art work...I've been threatening to do so for a long time.

in #art5 years ago

I'm always saying how untalented I am at art. I'm not joking about it either; I am literally the worst artist on the planet. Seriously, they did a survey; I have the results.

I know I'm bad at art, but curiously, many here on steem keep telling me how good I could be if I tried. How they know this miraculous piece of information about me I cannot say...However I thought I'd put some effort into an artwork and prove them wrong. Today's the day.

In this post I'm going to draw a self portrait...A full body-length drawing of me and I'm going to make an attempt to capture the true essence of me as accurately as I can. I'll show you the step by step also, so you know it's not plagiarised work, and see my genius in action...Here goes.

Stage one...


The begining...My body starts to take shape here. The keen-eyed among you, the truly gifted artists, will also possibly make out the beginnings of my head, or "noggin",as I often refer to it. You will note, and this is for those who know me well, that it is most accurately depicted as a bulbous and pumpkin-shaped appendage that sits, like most people's heads, upon my neck which is also faithfully recreated here.

On to the next stage...

Here, and after much work, you can see I have added my legs. Particular effort went into recreating the musculature of my legs in minute detail. Again, those familiar with the human body, will note the expert way I have shown my feet, both pointing in opposite directions...I've added this imagery into my artwork to demonstrate the juxtaposition between the "self" who could be an amazing artist and the "self" who is in fact the worlds worst artist. The dichotomy of my inner "artist." Either way, the result is hypnotic, don't you think?

On to the next stage...

Now things begin to really take shape with the addition of my arms and hands. Again, I have taken careful note of my massive biceps, triceps and forearms ensuring that my picture was true to life. You can see here, that when I posed for myself to draw...myself...I adopted a reasonably typical, every-day sort of pose much like you may do yourself many times a day. I believe it lends my piece a certain "joie de vivre", some "Ooo la la." Agree? Artists take note of the pen strokes and how they generally manage not to ever meet cleanly at their juncture-points; More clever imagery to demonstrate my artistic diversity and eclectic "devil may care" attitude towards my craft.

And now the final stage...

Drawing eyes can be difficult...But not for me because, like those steem people suggested, I tried hard. You may think the eyes drawn here are different sizes and the eyeballs are looking in different directions...But no! It is simply my clever drawing ability drawing the eyes so that they follow the viewer, no matter where they shift. Go on, try it out. The same with my ears here...One seems larger than the other but that's also a ruse...It is, indeed, simply perspective being utilised to draw the observer into the picture. Clever huh?

The rest of my face...Well, this is very accurate depiction of me...So no stealing this image to create a fake ID in my name please. Have some respect. I don't have curly hair, that's a little artistic flair I put in, some imagery to indicate that an artists career takes twists and turns, never a straight road. Oh, please forgive that little boo boo in the lower right corner. I dropped the pen.

OK, so no I didn't ingest some wacky mushrooms prior to writing this...Although I think the stick figure in my drawing might have...I'm just having some fun.

I'm really terrible at drawing as you can see. I mean terrible. Here's the thing though...I'm ok with it. Sure, I sometimes wish I could draw better but not strongly enough to do anything about it. I mean, I also sometimes wish I lived in a tree house on paradise island with an endless packet of nacho-cheese corn chips and a robot to do all the chores...It doesn't mean I want to invest any effort in doing so.

I come from a very artistic family. My father was an artist...You can see his scribble in the very first image...This is a doodle he did that I saved. The thing is, my artistic flair doesn't extend to drawing or painting. Not that I'm aware anyway, unless someone may call this stick man good work? Nah, didn't think so. I play the piano though, well; Played the trumpet and bass guitar in a jazz band and certainly think creatively. Is that art? Hmm, not sure. Maybe though.

I believe we all have talents and whilst they come out in various ways, they are still talents. Right? I'm not one of those people who says a person can be or do whatever they wish, it's a little naive. It doesn't mean I squash people's dreams, or my own...Just that I think it's important to play to one's strengths and to understand what can and can't be, or do.

Anyway, I don't want to get to deeply into it because this post is me just fucking around and having a little fun...Because I can...It's my blog after all.

I'd like to see some of your art though...Seriously. If you think you can draw as good as me I'd like to see it. You have to draw yourself though...You can use any media too. Pen and ink, charcoal, water-colours, oil paints, crayon...The pen on a string at the post Office...Your choice.

Go.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

I always like seeing the different stages of a drawing unfold lol. Nice work ☺

Thanks. Yeah, I figured that showing the complexity of the piece would demonstrate my ability fully. 😄

!BEER



Hey @forester-joe, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

This post has been rewarded with an upvote from city trail as part of Neoxian City Curation program . We are glad to see you using #neoxian tag in your posts. If you still not in our discord, you can join our Discord Server for more goodies and giveaways.

Do you know that you can earn NEOXAG tokens as passive income by delegating to @neoxiancityvb. Here are some handy links for delegations: 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP. Read more about the bot in this post. Note: The liquid neoxag reward of this comment will be burned and stake will be used for curation.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 15500 replies. Your next target is to reach 16000 replies.
You made more than 13000 comments. Your next target is to reach 14000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Oh... Would You L @ @ k at that....!!!

No..... It is not a Rocket Launch.....

6ea0zucz8h.png

(src-https://mars.jpl.nasa.gov/msl/mission/timeline/launch/launchsequencedetails/)

It is @galenkp after letting loose all the smoke blown up his ars about his awful art work.... Lmao

Really tho. You can draw Me anytime. That selfie you penned was way thinner than the real Galen... And I could use a few less kilos. (lbs.)

Challenge accepted...

I also happen to know that that rocket symbolises your massive HORN when you saw my picture.

I am sorry to ruin the fantasy yer havin. But that self portrait was thee most unsexual thing I have seen today.

Maybe the canvas (pen / paper) is not your thing, unless we paint a bulls eye on it....

qxkg5gp9so.jpg

(src DDG.com memes)

Shooting is art right....? Then we are talking talent. Manley, pew pew pew, hit the target talent.

Hit the target, Your thee Man..!!

crrv44pgvy.jpg

I'm not believing you.

You've been chosen to be featured in @creativecoin's 🔥DAILY BURN🔥 post!

😍@carrieallen

I like this piece, the angle of the legs seem to lend a certain gravitas to the message. The intentional mistake acting as a counterpoint to the serious message contained within.

Aaaraa4!!;

Haha...Why thank you...A nice accolade from the great man himself. I thought to have some fun...Was in a whimsical mood. 🤣

I must have a bad imagination as I just can not make out the image of one @galenkp.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! Squint...That may do the trick.

Righto I will try that👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha I looked at the first image and thought wow this is a guy of many talents! When I scrolled down a bit it was clear to me this was going to be a fun post to read. You know what, you don't have to be good at everything. It only sucks when it makes you feel bad that you aren't satisfied yourself.. I read you're ok with it, so you're fine lol.

I dropped this post for curation in the Neoxian City server, the vote will follow shortly!

Thanks for another fun post!

Hey there...I can't take credit for my dad's scribble and so decided to create some real art! 😂

Actually, was just truing to have a little fun...Show people that I'm a kooky bugger sometimes and have a personality...Thanks for your curation, this is greatly appreciated...Now the big question...

Where's your self-drawing...

Go!

Nah, I get that. You did the right thing!
My self-drawing.. pff no time for that stuff atm, I wish I could find the peace of mind and time to do some drawing. Closest I've come to that point is drawing the outlines of a Christmas tree like 6 times last week, so my daugher could colour the inside and also draw some balls in the tree. Next week she has her very first Christmas celebration at school, and I want to give the kindergarten teachers a card she made with chocolates or something. So for now, that's all hehe.

Have a good weekend!

I bet you got the Christmas tree drawing pretty much perfect by now. 🤗

Manually curated by the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

You should quit your day job and go full time into drawing. That portrait is amazing! Although, you should probably stay away from power tools as you only have three digits left on each hand. :)

I am also not the greatest at drawing. I am good at other things and I am okay with that.

Haha! You know it's funny you should say that...I quit my job today and bought a loft studio in the funky side of town...Donned some eclectic looking clothing, nothing matches of course, and a beret hat. Gonna be rich off my art. Thankfully I'm so talented.

Ah yes, I'll write about that time I was eating a donut and didn't remember to move my fingers...Chomped right though them. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49