Art Exhibit: Handuraw Marawi (Photos and Videos Inside)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I took the opportunity to visit Museo de Oro again because there was an exhibit that features a timely issue in the Philippines.

The modern art exhibit I witnessed yesterday afternoon was Handuraw Marawi that depicted the horrors of war and the hope of humanity in light with recovering from such experiences.

I classified it under modern art as it did not only used traditional methods in portraying issues in the society, but it also used technology. By the way, the said exhibit was initiated by Social Development Cluster of Xavier University - Ateneo de Cagayan.

P_20180104_152642.jpg

This is what you will see when you enter the museum. There is actually a piece on top of that painted table but unfortunately I was not focused on that piece when I entered the building. I am sorry.

If you are wondering, I also took videos by the way. Bringing of camera and video recording equipment is allowed. You just make sure you do not use flash photography.

I took this video while heading to the museum. We only paid Php130.00 (almost 3 USD). For alumni (mine), I paid Php60.00 and was asked to show my alumni ID, while for my brother, I paid Php70.00 since he is an outsider. Technically, we are both outsiders but I graduated from that institution almost five years ago. My! I feel so old now.

Well, there is nothing wrong with the entrance fees since it is being used for the maintenance of everything inside that building. And I must say, it is worth it!

P_20180104_152801.jpg

P_20180104_152746.jpg

Before heading inside the exhibit room, my brother and I took photos of ourselves. We were both thrilled to witness what is in store for us.

Let us get inside the exhibit room and find out what is in store for us!

Let me just quote Bing Cariño, the curator for this exhibit his exhibit notes:

Bearing witness to war
The modern age is accustomed to graphic images of war . From Francisco Goya's series of etchings The disasters of War to *Picasso's Guernica, art portraying war has the ability to profoundly shock and disturb. Art in the recent century has portrayed war and the drama of perverse human suffering in the midst of contrasting ideals on why and how war was staged and waged.

Handuraw Marawi - a Mission Exhibit offers images of war in multimedia art exhibit about the Marawi Siege and the collective efforts of the universe for the purpose of educating the community as regards the crisis that proves the fervent aspiration for peace in Mindanao. The concept of this component activity of the Mindanao Week of Peace Celebration as an initiative of the Xavier Center for Culture and the Arts was developed by Mr. Hobart Savior.

This exhibit features the works of Froilan Gallardo, Bobby Lagsa, Kublai Millan, Oscar Floreindo, Robert de la Serna, Hasuna Macla and Bing Cariño interfaced dialogue among each other sharing each perception in bearing witness the unfolding of the war. Majority of the images by Mr. Froilan Gallardo, Mr. Bobby Lagsa and by the documentors of the Social Development Cluster's Tabang Marawi. These photographers have spent time documenting the crisis in Marawi City.

The moment I entered this exhibit hall in second floor of the building, I had been wondering where are all the art installations are as I was welcome my images that were shown from an LCD projector.

Excuse me guys for I thought the image that was shown ear the entrance was made up of mural paintings. It was actually a huge printed image, probably made up of tarpaulin, that was displayed on the wall.

P_20180104_153510.jpg

Sculptures of combongs/kombongs (as how we call it here) were also displayed with cellphones that displayed photos that were taken during the war and during the rehabilitation period.

I am just going to highlight few artworks and installations that are found in the exhibit room.

According to the anecdotes posted on the wall, Project 2 which is The Veiled Witness, Hasuna Macla's Hasna Pilgrimage is reworked to present the photographs take by Marawi residents in the course of the siege. The installation depicts residents bearing witness to war in variety if point of view, that to the audience, they become imagined, idealized, or just plain witness to the unfolding war.

These are the following artists for this project:
Sculpture - Alyanna Macla
Photograph on Tarpaulin - Froilan Gallardo
Uploaded Photos on Smart Phones - Robert de la Serna and various artists
Projection Editor - Robert de la Serna

P_20180104_153711.jpg
Project 3: Boxes
To quote again the anecdote posted near the art installation, it is a mixed media installation art that depicts the relief, psycho-social interventions, medical missions and sustainable agriculture training of Xavier Ateneo thru its Social Development Cluster.

The artists are the following:
Various artists from the Social Development Cluster on the Photographs and Installation
Robert de la Serna as the projection editor

P_20180104_154110.jpg
The artworks behind me are Kublai Millian's *Mindana(one) series. These are multimedia paintings that used archival photos of Mindanao. It shows the glory of Marawi.

P_20180104_154214.jpg
I liked how these multimedia paintings were carefully done. Just check this one for a closer view.

P_20180104_153247.jpg

This is one of the component of the Art bomb series by Museo de Oro's Assistant Curator, Mr. Oscar Floreindo. I find this one moving and heartbreaking. Oh by the way, if you had been following since then, you would know that I interviewed him once in regard with his passion for art.

P_20180104_153541.jpg

Like I said, I will just highlight few of the works which are in photos that are displayed in the exhibit room.
Anyway, two thumbs up for everyone who worked hard on this project. You guys are just so amazing! You really did a great job. You made me cry while I was in that room.


Chain of thoughts

In this video above, I have expressed my feeling at that time. I swear, I was in few moments about to cry There are no winners in war, everyone loses. Everyone dies either physically or emotionally.

From someone who worked in nation-building and peace education in Mindanao, it pained my heart that the Marawi Siege occurred. It pained me knowing that the efforts in coming up with peace in our region was compromised because of the evils that existed in our land.

Although everyone involved in the war loses, it does not mean they are forever losers. The moment they stepped out from being embraced in anxiety, pain, and the stresses it caused them, they become winners.

I am proud and glad to those who worked hard for the rehabilitation of Marawi City. Your efforts will never be put to vain.

Please do watch the videos to have a full glimpse of the artworks inside the exhibit room. 😊

Inside other exhibit rooms

It was almost closing time when my brother said he wanted to see the other exhibit rooms. I had been there multiple times already but I still took the chance to be inside the rooms inside the first floor. I find this important because I may not be able to see all the details just in one visit.

Also, I was not able to view everything because some of the stuff inside were freaking me out particularly the clay sculptures.


I was reading the indigenous people/ tribes found in certain areas of Mindanao. I was not able to go all through out because the clay sculptures were situated there. It made me recall then of the movie Night at the Museum.

My brother was trying to play with the Kulintang. It is a Philippine Traditional Instrument found in the island of Mindanao.

If you were able to go over my blog, I wrote a long entry of the exhibits inside the museum. I wish to share to you the link for that entry, but unfortunately my internet connection as of the moment is not cooperating.


P_20180104_151921.jpg

How to get there by the way?
Museo de Oro is located at Xavier University. It is basically situated at the heart of Cagayan de Oro City. The access is just easy but take note, it is open on weekdays and Saturdays. I just forgot the date when it is close for maintenance.

You actually need to take note these few things in mind:

  1. You are entering a Jesuit Institution so wear modest attire. For men and women, you should wear proper attire. By that I mean: no short shorts and short skirts for women; men are also not allowed to wear shorts; no wearing of slippers; and no wearing of revealing clothes.
  2. If you happen to be a visitor just like my brother yesterday, secure a valid identification card.
  3. Be polite to the security guards. They might irritate you at some point when you enter the institution, but they do it for security purposes only.

As you can see, I was wearing an oversized dress. Well,I just decided to visit the museum out of the blue. I do not have enough time so I decided the first dress my hand got itself to.


Thank you for reading and I hope you take time to visit Museo de Oro if you happen to be in our City. Or if not, it would be great if you visit the museum in your area or the place you are currently at. It is a fun learning experience to know things especially when there are artifacts around.

The photos and videos are all mine taken by Asus Zenphone 4 Selfie Lite. You can find the videos on my youtube channel which is under my name Johanna Gail Tongco. I was suppose to condense all the videos and post it under d.tube but unfortunately I still have issues on my internet connection.

On my next features, I will be using my new Samsung J7 Pro. Hurrah! I think it is able to take better photos and videos.

Too much of that alredy, I hope to see you around my blog again next time. Inhale happiness, exhale sadness. Have a great day!

Lots of love,

Johanna Gail

Sort:  

An amazing display of art.

Your eyes had a great treat. You fed them well. And you let us in with an interesting story, nice images and videos. Thanks

You are welcome dear. Until next time, I wish share more stories =)

this is amazing the way you describe all these things is fantastic

Thank you. I try to as much as possible to come up with interesting entries and facts around me since I promised to do that in my entries for year 2018.

I am really glad you appreciate my work. Good day ti you dear Steemian.

Great post! It's very informative. Will look at your videos and commentaries later. Never been to Cagayan. Would you recommend visiting there in case we have a short trip in the province?

Thank you! Cagayan de Oro is a fast growing city and is surrounded by wonderful town 😊 I would recommend you to drop by here and try the Seven Seas which is a water park. It is near Cagayan de Oro City. There are also overlooking places that gives you a glimpse of the city light. Bukidnon has Dahilayan Adventure and Forest Park. But if you want to go extreme, you can try mountain trekking or hiking in Bukidnon.

Amazing and heart wrenching. When I saw teh siege of Marawi I could not believe it.

We had thought that things would get better and that situation just shook me.

Thank you for highlighting the pieces you picked. it was as if I was there with you.

It is as if you were with me. It felt great you know when someone appreciates all your efforts. It feels the same for the artitsts who get put their work on spot light.

I also feel the same. Things will get better for the people in Marawi City. We are heading towards peace and development.

Dear @gailbelga that is very fontastic. thanks for share this beautiful article.

Oh thank you for appreciating it. Have a great day.

Dear @gailbelga i'll have been glad to follow each other if you like my friend.

Sure no problem =)

I do same. thanks so much

perfect!!!! your such a talented person gail..

Talented sir? Or talkative? Hahaha

pde both... you posses something that others don't...

Oh. Thank you for seeing that kuya =)

such a great post @gailbelga
Please follow me @reatimtim and check my posts.

This is very educational.

Amazing and very informative post.

vlogger na vlogger ang datingan mo sis. haha love it! thanks for touring us ❤

Sa susunod magkasama na tayo niyan. Hah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64