Why Steemit Will Revolutionize How Artist Make a Living

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Gabriel_Valles_Steemit_Blog_0001.png
When I started my art school MentorWings.com the primary vision was to train artist by reinventing the apprenticeship system apart from all the opportunist whose only purpose is to make money off of the dreams of the young wide-eyed artist. By that, I mean sellers of student loans, for-profit schools with inferior instruction, accreditation sellers. I wanted the training of young artist to be where it should have always been, In the art community itself. !

My second goal was to raise a generation of artist-entrepreneurs that can create properties and reap all the benefits of their creations. One of my mantras is, "I don't want you to work for Disney, I want you to be the next Disney!" So I am always on the lookout for ways to make this happen for my students.

MWArt_Logo_Steemit.png

Today, like no other time in history, artist have a world of opportunity to make a living in ways that were unimaginable just a few years ago. My twelve-year-old son makes $300-500 a month on his stop-motion animation YouTube Channel, KidsFilmingClub ( https://www.youtube.com/c/KidsFilmingClub ). Etsy, Patreon , YouTube, Instagram, and many self-publishing services are just a few money-making outlets.

For a time, I thought Patreon might be the best way, but as I saw several of my friends with very large followings flounder on the platform I realized it would be great for some but not all. The primary reason is that it requires real money that many of the young fans aren't prepared to give. Instagram is great for building a following but very hard to monetize. And while YouTube has been great for my son, Google keeps the lion's share of the revenue generated.

download.png

So now comes Steemit ( https://steemit.com/ ). A blockchain based social network that actually pays you to post content that people value. I won't go into how it works here but if you have heard all of the recent news about Bitcoin this works on the same premise overlayed on top of a social network.

Why do I think think this will revolutionize how Artist make a living?

What if you could take all of the likes and comments you received or gave on Instagram and monetize it instantly?
This is what Steemit does. The more valuable the community feels your content is the more money you make. And you can even earn by making smart and relevant comments. All of this activity serves to build your reputation and compounds your ability to earn. The best content rises to the top with out the influence of gatekeepers in Hollywood or the publishing industry.

The best part is you don't pay any money into the system, It is all earned by your hard work and reputation. And a vote has a tangible effect on supporting your favorite Artists.

So what are you waiting for? Start turning those likes into a living and bring your fans with you!

Come Join all the fun and follow me here - https://steemit.com/@gabrielvalles
And on my Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/gabrielvallesart

Sort:  

It's really cool, isn't it. I got fascinated by Steem when I was introduced to it. Keep up the good work

Thanks! Yes, I it will be tough, but Isee a lot of potential.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62959.39
ETH 2453.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62