Something different... Mood lamps!

in #art7 years ago

DSCN3467.JPG

As you all know I normally post a painting almost every day, but, for some reason I have not been keeping to my regular schedule... Well, this is the reason!

I've been mulling this idea around in my head now for a number of weeks. I started with paper models and since I liked the result I decided I should try my hand at making them out of wood using a laser cutter and living hinges.

It started off with a few different paper cuts until I liked the shape.

DSCN3468.JPG

DSCN3469.JPGDSCN3471.JPG

After some experimenting and inspiration from nature and the fibonacci sequence, I settled on a design which has 8 inner arms and 13 outer arms going in different directions. With the lights on it almost has a life of it's own!

I haven't perfected the wood design yet but I have been spending a lot of time refining the shapes to really dial everything in.

DSCN3472.JPGDSCN3473.JPG

I'll be super busy messing this design up over the next few weeks or so. I'll try and give myself some painting time for you guys but I'll probably be forced to drop my posts back to every few days. Thanks for understanding, hope to be back to more regular posts soon!

Thank you for commenting, upvoting and taking the time to look. Love ya!

Sort:  

wow, very creative @fumansiu I like it

Thank you, me too! I hope they turn out cool once I get the design right :D

That is so cool!! Love it!

Glad you like it! 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72