You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My creative journey - Back in the hot seat here on Steemit!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I was wondering where you went!! Glad you're back :)
Awesome you're still pursuing sketching! You and your skills for photography and art!

Do you have any advice on better photography?? I know that's a broad question, I've just been trying to get better at it.. but don't know where to start.

Sort:  

Wow, that is pretty broad, but I do get it a lot. There are so many answers to that one, hehe. I always recommend to take more pictures. Find what you like to shoot, and keep on shooting it until you get something you like to look at. Always be looking at what you did right and what you did wrong. Seek out experienced people who will give you hard, critical, and vital feedback. Some of the hardest moments are listening to someone rip our favorite images apart piece by piece asking the questions we don't want anyone to ask. If you want to get good, those are the people you need to seek out. Most people will say whatever you show them looks good, but they really have no idea. Our media saturated culture has lost sense of what's good and bad and usual just reply in a way that will propel the conversation in a positive light. God forbid someone says something bad about your picture. You have to have a lot of patience, confidence in yourself, and the ability to keep moving forward no matter what. Also, keep in mind the difference between technicality and creativity. Technicality is the ability to bring your creative vision to life. You may have a strong creative vision but crappy technicals for a while, but if you apply yourself and really study the nuts and bolts of photographers you love, you'll figure it out. The important part is to learn, learn, learn. Consume as much good imagery as you can as it will help to shape the photos you try and put together. And, creativity is a muscle. Keep flexing it and it will get stronger. Don't be sad if your first 100 attempt suck. It will come with time :)

Sooo, to bring that ramble back to a point, hehe...

Some good places to start would be to find what you like shooting the most, research some famous photographers in that industry, get to know what they do and figure out how they do it. Most of what you need to know is up on Youtube. Getting what you see there to work just takes experimentation. Then, try, and try, and try, and try, hehe.

Everyone's creative journey is different, but I've found the only way you move forward is by doing what you what to be doing...for better or worse...hmmm, think I said that several times already, but, wanted to emphasize it. I can't even count the number of people who said they wanted to get better at something but when I asked when the last time they did it they just kinda shrugged their shoulders and looked away, or even sometimes I've had people get pissed at me.

Hope that helps :)

I am honestly very surprised by this reply haha. So much time put into this, all to try and help me. I can't say thank you enough. This is definitely the most genuine, best reply I have received.

I am going to make sure to do my best to just keep trying as you say, I'm sure eventually at least SOMETHING has to improve lol.

You said that one of the best things to do is let an experienced photographer give you hard, critical, feedback. I am actually willing to do that, I am very curious what I need to do better. Is there a chance I could one day show you my best photo (completely of my opinion) and you be that person that gives me that feedback? 😅

Just a thought.

You inspire me and thank you for it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43