From Starving Artist to Thriving Artist

in #art7 years ago (edited)

-Wallpapers Art Wallpaper Fine Art Wallpapers Paintings Art Desktop.jpg

I believe it is about time to get out of this starving artist myth, there's a new kind of artist that don't starve, and they are the real artists. The real artists thrive. I live off my creations, off my talents. It does not matter if don't get rich, what matters is that I am able to put something on the table at the end of the day.

Nowadays, technology and internet made it easier for us artists to showcase our work. I see that I have more opportunities to share my masterpiece to the world as different model come for creative work. Creative workers don't have to suffer and starve, people should unlearn this limiting belief and encourage the new generation to pursue their passion in art. And let go of this thinking that they will not make anything in the future. The starving artist myth has already stayed for so long that its time to welcome the New Renaissance.

An artist is born

I do believe that we are all artists in our own right, everyone is born with creative gifts to share with the world. Then, later nurtured and perfected by our teachers and mentors. Our work will always be needed by the world, especially in this age of AI. People need to be inspired, to reconnect with nature and feel, and this is only made possible by our work, by continuously creating art. Whether it is writing a book, a startup project or creating a simple craft, the struggle to create should not exist.

I can say that I'm a real artist by my own standards, which only means, I spend my time doing the things that matter to me, and I don't need anyone's permission to create. I create and follow my own rhythm and breathe my own fashion, and nothing is going to limit me. It does not mean that I have to work secretly and hope that someone will discover my art someday. Sharing of art has never been easier, and our work has been more accessible these days to those who need it. And if in exchange for my creativity I would be rewarded for it, then it means the world is taking me seriously.

I am used to not making a lot of money really, that if my work earned a lot, it just leaves me surprised. It is nice to just lower my expectations and stick to whatever I've earned, and live off it. It is not about getting rich, it is about building a life that makes creating more art possible.

I don't want to starve, I want to thrive.

I don't want to take my masterpiece with me to the grave, I want it to live. I must train myself to live and think differently, and not live up to this limiting belief and the ways I've been told artists behave.

The reality

Changing the entire society's perspective cannot simply be done overnight, the world can be slow to accept the new truth that artists don't starve. However, there is one that can change, and that is me.

And perhaps, if I can be the change I want to see in the world, then the world can change. The world can change how they see artists.

There are already many artists out there who create beautiful work. But to thrive, I must resist the temptation to conform. I need to think differently, however difficult. I have to be different, and learn how to master my own mindset.

Creativity also means thinking of creative ways to thrive as an artist these days. I need to take the initiative to get my work out there and not just wait for the world to discover my work. By mastering the market and building my network, I can ensure that I will never starve again.

Artists need to master money as well, and once we are earning, we need to know how to invest that money to make more money. And with more money, we can create more art. There is nothing evil about making money, especially if it is the result of our own creativity and talent.

We need to end this age of starving artist and make this the era of thriving artist. I believe it is time to let go of those assumptions about the artists and embrace this New Renaissance. We should believe that creative work is worth its reward.

It is time for us to thrive.

This is not about getting rich or becoming famous, this is about doing the work we are passionate about. Everyone is looking for ways to share our talents to the world without having to worry about food. It means, we need to get paid for our creations and build a life that allows us to keep creating.

Artists don't need to suffer to create, we must finally bury this starving artist myth forever into oblivion. It is time for us to embrace a new paradigm, by building networks and relationships in creative work.

I need to make some money to make more art.

The most important thing is to continuously create things, and not refusing to quit. I don't need to be rich to do that, but I also don't need to starve. That is not how my best work is going to be made.

I will not let the world down, my work is needed.

I have a choice, I can walk away and be that tired, frustrated artist who struggles to keep creating, or I can change my mindset and embrace the truth - that I don't have to starve anymore. I thrive.


Img Src

Sort:  

followed you,if you like ltechnology,please follow back....!!!

We still do not know one thousandth of one percent of what nature has revealed to us.

- Albert Einstein

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61378.33
ETH 2960.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49