Nasty Nightstand - A Restoration Story

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello, my Steemy homies! I started this profile with every intention to stay active, but life got really busy. Learning a new job and working overtime to catch up on bills whose payments were delayed due to Hurricane Harvey took up most of my time. I recently spent some of my off time in a creative space and would like to share with you the result of my efforts!

I'm a pretty creative person and my friends would agree that I'm resourceful. I think furniture restoration is pretty neat and have refinished a few pieces in the past few years. I'm far from an expert and I wouldn't consider this a true passion, but it's a fun hobby that does require some patience...which is honestly something I've always struggled with. So, I think I think I needed this little nightstand as much as it needed it.

A little nightstand was left with me about 10 years ago. I apologize for not having a proper before picture. It had been painted with black semi-gloss paint and some very modern silver knobs. After a bit of time, the paint started to peel from the front revealing an interesting bit of wooden filigree! I was excited to strip this sucker to see what was underneath!

nightstand1 (1).jpg

Ugh! So, upon removing the knobs, pieces of veneer peeled off with the paint. The drawers' corners were also worn down pretty bad.

nightstand2.jpg

I was disappointed at the condition of the piece so I figured I would just sand it smooth and resort to a fresh coat of paint.nightstand2 (2).jpgnightstand3.jpg

I mean, it was in REALLY bad shape. And I have no idea what material this thing is made of under it's fucked veneer. :(
nightstand1.jpg

With how easily the paint originally peeled off (the whole incentive for stripping this damned thing), I was surprisingly left with the most stubborn paint!
I actually gave up on this piece for a few years.nightstand6.jpg

This past summer, I had a change of heart and decided to give this sad dumpy piece another chance.
nightstand4.jpg

After some SERIOUS sanding, this thing was starting to look alright! I found a small can of ebony wood stain on hand and figured why not?
nightstand5.jpg

I am still surprised at how well the piece took the stain given the mystery material underneath the veneer. Most of the damage is in the back and I was able to salvage the small pieces of veneer that came off with the knobs. A coat of brushed bronze spray paint transformed the knobs and I absolutely LOVE how it turned out.
nightstand9.jpg

Thanks for looking!
-ff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97