Pencil sketch of an EaglesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Hi Steemians,

Today I am uploading my pencil sketch of an Eagle... below I go through the steps I took.

IMG_20170914_0001.jpg

I first found a decent Royalty free picture online to use as reference. I then started to sketch loosely the outline of the bird. I used a decent set of pencils with varying hardness from 4H to 6B.

IMG_20170910_0001.jpg

I then started to add detail to the eye which I think can make a big difference to the result. The anatomy of the eye itself can be difficult to see so a good image is needed for reference.

IMG_20170910_0002.jpg

I then started to detail the beak , firstly the detail was a bit sketchy but then I smoothed the shading using my finger.

IMG_20170910_0003.jpg

Then I started to add in detail of the feathers which was very tricky as there was an awful lot of detail in them.

IMG_20170910_0004.jpg

Then more feather details. The feathers on the head, wing and back all have their differences and had to be approached in a different way. I had to simplify the details somewhat as on the image as there was incredible detail.

IMG_20170911_0001.jpg

IMG_20170912_0001.jpg

As you can see this bird is a Magnificent creature..
IMG_20170914_0001.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this blog as much as I enjoyed creating it and if you did please remember upvote, resteem and if you have n't done so already please follow.

P.S I had a few problems uploading the images so I hope they displaying well!

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @freedom-channel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 0.15 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @freedom-channel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59073.90
ETH 2519.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48