You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tell Me What You Want

in #art8 years ago

Google image Earthships. It would be nice to see someone develop some really nice, high tech versions of large, multi unit Earthships. We can even talk about compensation if you like. But it would be useful to see some of your technical, architectural works.

Sort:  

Oh that kind of earthship I can do that one!!!

Definitely #6 on my list!

I'm suggesting something cooler than this...

Imgur

Right now I'm reading this, looking at structure and design, I'm thinking we are going through a cooling period because the sun is powering down and maybe we're going into a mini ice age so I'm interested in buildings were you can live and grow your own food.

I've wanted to live like a hobbit forever and fantasied about living underground with a greenhouse above ground...but I don't know anything about actual practical need of such a building or a community, so I'm starting a reading list. This is my first read. http://earthship.org/a-look-at-the-models-of-earthships

I've read the governments around the world already have huge underground communities. This is amazing.

The buildings will have to withstand earthquakes .... something to look up! I know there are cave systems and huge ancient underground cities in the areas of China and Turkey that are thousands of years old and the caves, some so big that have their own weather systems that are millions of years old...I wonder how they withstood earthquakes?

The site I'm reading uses tires and aluminum cans for there walls, I wonder how toxic they are? I'm going to do a search

What is "carbon black"? The following description of "carbon black" is found in Appendix A of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) "Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards": NIOSH considers "Carbon Black" to be the material consisting of more than 80% elemental carbon in the form of near-spherical colloidal particles and coalesced particle aggregates of colloidal size that is obtained by the partial combustion or thermal decomposition of hydrocarbons. NIOSH also classifies carbon black as a class A (known) carcinogen. However, to assess the risks to human health and environment posed by the use of recycled tires in Earthships, one must look at the pathways of exposure, and the state in which this potential contaminant exists. The letter states that, "A tire under proper conditions will break down into the above products." "The proper conditions" for rubber to degrade would be: high temperature, exposure to light, or the presence of strong oxidizing chemicals. None of these conditions exist when a tire is entombed in an Earthship wall surrounded by packed earth, vapor barrier, stucco, and paint. The argument has been made that tires must off-gas because "old tires smell." The reason "old tires smell" is due to the photo degradation of rubber. Essentially what happens is that photons from light bombard the rubber and knock atoms from the long rubber polymer molecules. This causes the rubber to degrade, and smaller molecules to vaporize. In the absence of light, this does not happen.
http://earthship.com/offgassing

I'm going to do a bit more research because I'm a skeptic lolol

Well, this report nixes this idea, tons more data on other types of sustainable houses that don't use recycled toxic material http://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/blogs/dept/musings/earthship-hype-and-earthship-reality

You certainly do NOT have to use tires and trash. It's just one modality.

Imgur

Imgur

Whew...thank you!

I figured there were toxic chemicals, no tires or cans allowed in my earthship...http://hackingtheearthship.blogspot.com/2015/01/tire-off-gassing-research.html

Increased incidences of lung tumors were observed in female rats exposed by inhalation to the only or lowest concentration (of carbon black) tested..."

Earth sheltered homes are what I've been reading about since 2010
https://www.niftyhomestead.com/blog/earth-sheltered-homes/

Here are a few ideas...

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

I love the idea building into hills and using earth as an insulator ... I will start seriously looking at specs...thank you, you have no idea how close to my heart this ideal is...

Earth ships, first and foremost we need to develop the ability to withstand deep space radiation. I see our solar system as an earthship....that maybe beyond my ability. I'll sleep on this one tonight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56834.19
ETH 2500.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27