You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inspirational Quote GRAPHIC Series - Exclusively for Steemit / #2 Einstein

in #art7 years ago

I love the graphic design and the message...

...but again, it is disputed whether Einstein actually said this. If he indeed said something like it, according to the original claims attributing this to Einstein, the wording must have come in form of a reply to a question:

“I don’t know. But I can tell you what they’ll use in the fourth. They’ll use rocks!”

It is entirely possible that Einstein never actually said this at all, though. The earliest records of a quote along these lines dates back to 1946 as part of reporting on nuclear tests at the Bikini atoll:

Joe Laitin reports that reporters at Bikini were questioning an army lieutenant about what weapons would be used in the next war.

“I dunno,” he said, “but in the war after the next war, sure as Hell, they’ll be using spears!”

I guess it still adds up to sticks and stones ;)

Sorry for being a smart ass, I just copied all this again form here: quoteinvestigator.com

Sort:  

that's fine @fraenk you are more than welcome to cast your nets over my project.

I'm a big fan of etymologies and the related histories & origin of things. I didn't know Albert personally so perhaps we'll never know whether smart statements were incorrectly attributed to one of the cleverest minds of the time. Seems a fair assumption that any half decent quote would be attributed to him.

Perhaps one day you will be rightly or (not) accredited with the beginnings of the craze of online googlyness !

E= mc2 he did say that !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64