Artwork - Kyoto Daigoji Temple

in #art7 years ago

Hi!! Today, i attempted to draw the kyoto daigoji temple. I came across this picture on pinterest. The temple and scenery looks stunning and beautiful!! Below is my artwork together with the picture is used as a reference:


The picture i used to reference to is this:


I started out by sketching the image. I had a really tough time as i couldn't get the proportion right and especially the angle of the bridge. It took me quite awhile to draw it.


Mid process, I made a mistake by using watercolour pencils for the trees. It was very difficult to blend and get a natural gradient to it using the pencils. Thus, i used Winsor & Newton Cotman watercolours (pocketbox) together with Dr. Ph Martin's Hydrus fine art watercolours to do the background and the trees. It was definitely easy to blend. As for the temple and the bridge, i used the pencils as there were many small details.

-> As you can see, the trees at the right looks quite weird.


At the end, as the colours were not vibrant enough, i used the saturated Dr. Ph. Martin's Hydrus Watercolours to touch up the trees. And so... This is the final drawing!!


You can check out my previous post on my blog, https://steemit.com/@foiesushi

And if you like my posts, you can give it an upvote or support me by donating to me! ^^

BTC Wallet : 1LjBiPc3eDF3kojgAUyXhoczhQvjyhhJ9i
STEEMit : @foiesushi
Ethereum : 0x3F8Dcf6585Fe023e0c7B086ad263f00d2827bE11
LITECOIN : LLZVpGr7u5wxaXNrYTSjD9mo71nH6csJ3X
DASH : XwMAVHb2GyhWVV2oDterJRaVmYmc36C8j9

If you would like to join me on Bitconnect (which you can earn money & support me at the same time), use my referral
https://bitconnect.co/?ref=Foiesushi


Thanks for reading! :)

Sort:  

Nice artwork, please continue with the good work!
looking forward for the next one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37