Check out my new piece, "Foreplay", + learn what I used to get this effect

in #art6 years ago

F O C I // Foreplay

Foreplay by F.O.C.I. / FreshOutCheckIt

Inspiration/original photo courtesy of Chris Budgeon

In the spirit of Steemit, I'll take some time to give an overview of the process I went through in creating the above result.

To be blunt, I am hesitant to give away specifics, such as literally posting the values I use in every tool. This is a style/workflow I've taken a lot of time to cultivate and experiment with -- so, to be clear, my intent is to present the ingredients, not give away the recipe.

Note: The features I list below can be found as a default feature in most graphics processing software. They are fundamental categories of color mixing, individual channel mixing, and grain/noise, then back to the beginning. The key is, I abuse these features to produce distortion effects (color clipping, noise addition, etc). For reference, it's same concept of distorting a guitar signal for rock music.

Tools used, in roughly chronological order (lots of going back and forth):

SoftwareFeature / Menu LocationMore Info
Corel PHOTO-PAINT 2017Image>Adjust>Image Adjust Labinfo
-Image>Adjust>Channel Mixerinfo
-Image>Adjust>Color Toneinfo
-Effects>Noise>Tune Noiseinfo
Adobe Photoshop CCGeneral compositingcompositing guide
-Image>Adjustments>Exposureinfo
-Minor last-minute adjustments via Image>Adjustments tool collectionguide

Ty for checking it out
follow me on twitter to see some past works and future pieces

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62848.40
ETH 2467.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63