Game Layout and Testing - GameJam2020 - Day02

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail02.jpg

I've been messing around quite a time in Godot and I begin to understand how the thing works now. Take a look!:


It is different from Unreal but bear some similarities in term of concepts. Things are getting better on the technical side.

However.

The designing part is much more harder. Getting a platformer to have an interesting feel in level design is much harder than I thought. I din't had the game experience in mind but I had the visuals.

Shot1.png

So I got in Blender, made some rendered images and placed them in the scene to simulate environment and it works wonder in my opinion. The problem is , it's not a productive way to design a game. Iterating a level over a 3d rendered image is slow and not helpful.

WIP_Vista.jpg

I suddenly found a creative vibe of some sort and got loose with the realisation which helped a lot. Added an animated block to move the player when sliding and another that can be pushed to reach higher blocks.

levellayout.JPG

Now, I will keep focusing on finishing the gameplay and placing the end to finish the loop.

Peace out!

Sort:  

Congratulations @flynneastwood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81