Sketchy Doings

in #art7 years ago (edited)

While working on some larger projects I thought I'd take a break to go through some old sketches of mine and show them off to all of you. These are quite the blast from the past for me; I hope you enjoy them as much as I have revisiting them.

This first one is a drawing of my room when I lived in Toronto. The drawing dates from 2005. I was living in a place where I had the entire top floor with a kitchen and a rooftop balcony for only $140 a week, in the heart of the Annex, a very nice section of that city. Had to share a bathroom on the second floor, and some of the other tenants were a handful, but overall it was a great place to live. The landlord lived next door (it was a split building), an elderly polish man whose wife died about a year after I moved in.
The entire place had been all occupied by their family at first, then they started renting rooms first to one friend of the family and eventually the half of the building became an impromptu rooming house. Unfortunately they neglected to register with the city and so eventually the place had to be sold. I lived there for nine years and still stay in touch with my former landlord, he's ninety years old now. Writing this I'm thinking I should give him a call.

room.jpg

I'm pretty sure the model for this turned out to be Merrill Nisker, aka the singer Peaches. It was at a place called the Toronto School of Art on Spadina Ave, where they had a drop in Life Drawing Session in the evening I think on Wednesdays. Hard to remember exactly when I drew this, maybe in '99 or '2000? Anyways she was a model but not an instructor so there was no Teaches of Peaches going on, but she was noticeably outgoing, smiling and looking everyone in the eye, cracking jokes.









This is Charlies, an old Italian Restaurant in my hometown of Kitchener Ontario, across from the bus station on Charles Street. Drew this back sometime in the mid nineties, probably '95. The place has changed hands multiple times since then and a few years back the building was renovated and now houses a bunch of tech startups.
charlies.jpg

This young lady is Tiff Preney of the Preney Print & Litho family from Windsor, who used to print a large proportion of the comics for the North American market, particularly independents. Eventually Quebecor Media managed to squeeze them out of the market, but Tiff is still a tireless supporter of the comics art, being one of the key organizers of the Toronto Comic Jam for the past several years. Drawn in 2005 on College St, Toronto.







This is Albert, a movie extra on the set of Cinderella Man, back in 2004. I was an extra for a while back then, and that shoot was quite interesting. The boxing scenes were shot in Maple Leaf Gardens, after it had shut down but before the new owners turned it into a Loblaw's or whatever it is now. Most of the guys in the crowd looked like they'd walked straight out of a Dick Tracy strip.
I've spotted myself in a couple of the shots from when they had me sit near the front, but I swear there's a shot of me back in the crowd that I remember: I cupped my hands in front of my face and yelled out, "Giant chunk of hash!" and the guy next to me laughed and slapped me on the shoulder. Look for it!
There's a few more pretty funny stories from that experience, but I think I'll save them for another post - I also want to track down the rest of the sketches I did to go with it, because I did quite a few.



So that's it for now. Looking back I realize that there are a lot of examples of places and events in my life that I managed to capture in sketch form, and while recently I've been shifting more of my focus on writing, seeing these images again reminds me of the power of visual art. And so I think I'll continue to make sketches whenever I find myself in a new or interesting situation; it's like a sort of diary, or maybe a diary prompt for when I choose to share them with descriptions like these. Thanks kindly for taking the time to look at this, and if you've any comments about this process I'd love to read them.

Sort:  
What I liked the most is the title. Very Creative. Of course, your sketches and story behind them are​ great. Looking forward to seeing more. Awesome post. Hope to see some of your current artistic productions. Stories behind them are always interesting.

Thank you for your kind comment and kick ass badge.

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies. Write less but write great original content, which is the key to success in Steemit. If you are using any image or video, cite proper source. Even if its your own image or video, it's worth mention the same.
Also if you know someone who is not using his voting power, then forward them to @sanmi on Steemit chat to do some charity and earn curation. Alternatively, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details.

Great sketches you style is inspiring keep up i would like to see more of your work. It's nice to have artists like you here ^_^

It's nice to be here.

For a User Experience Designer, one of the most important skills aside from listening, is ones' ability to sketch.

Good observation.

Nice art, upvote and resteem

Thanks kindly for your support.

Keep it up! Life drawing is the best way to grow as an artist. LOVE the Charlies sketch especially. Followed and upvoted fo sho

Thank you; RE: Charlie's, I can still remember eating their spaghetti when i was a kid...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fireawaymarmot to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Always love seeing art ; in all its forms - im always looking to see other people collaborate together and start projects ; if you are interested maybe there is something we can put together ?

I'm open to the possibility... With the note that I'm moving more towards a writing/narrative focus with my work. Ideally for me a collaboration would be with someone who can provide either visuals to my writing or finished visuals to my rough work.

i know a few talented artists ; one of which goes to places and frames her work and sells it - another is a talented painter who just recently opened up her own shop .
i could ask around, im fairly good as well, although i cannot draw hands if my life depended on it for some strange reason . other than that i am great, perhaps if you give me some content to work with ill ask around and see if other people would do some work ; if not, ill probably try something out myself, or get a few different pieces of work for the same content - which ever works ; if your up for it that is .

im working on a few projects at once since ive recently lost my previous job ; however i have helped people start their own online business so to speak - just a few different ways of making money in their spare time ; some have even gone full time and have been very successful .

So it may take a little while to catch up on the projects that i have currently but i will for sure look around ; i always know someone willing to help - if not im always down to get it done myself ; just keep me posted .

Okay, good to know.

dude I need to learn to make art post like you! kudos! 🌍 🍒

Thanks for the kudos. I checked out your blog and I think if you include more writing along with your art posts you will enjoy a higher level of response and upvotes. For example, your post about Mariano Rajoy Brey had a nice drawing, but I am not familiar with how corrupt a President he is - a more in depth description would increase the engagement of your post. In fact a lot of what you draw lends itself to different stories, so there's real potential for you there.

Oops wrote that too soon - you did have an earlier article, more in depth featuring his absurd phrases. Once I translated it into English it was very entertaining for me. More stuff like that.

I'll follow your advice, thanks a lot. I really need to improve my writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76