3D printed Broken Heart Duo lip balm container tutorial

in #art7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-11-12 at 08.48.54.png

Two days ago I started designing this cute Broken Heart duo lip balm container. I don't know where I got this idea from or where I have the inspiration from. It just came up in my head to make this.

Nov-12-2017 08-48-33.gif

First I sketched a half heart shape (Sketch > Spine) and mirrored it ( Sketch > Line > X)

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.04.20.png

Then I extruded it to the height I wanted. (Create > Extrude)

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.05.15.png

I sketched few lines for the heart to be broken.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.05.15.png

Then I Split the body first in two. (Modify > Split body)

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.05.53.png

Now I have two bodies, but I want the heart to have have lids. So I split the two bodies again. (Sketch > Line > Modify > Split Body)

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.06.42.png

I hided the left and right lids so I can work on the two containers. I sketched two holes the same size and extruded them both. ( Sketch > Circle > Extrude > operation: Cut). You also see two bigger circles that I offset with 3mm.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.07.52.png

The two bigger circles I also extruded for the threads.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.08.17.png

For the containers to be able to open and close I threaded the holes. (Create > Thread)

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.08.46.png

I did the same for the holes of the lids.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.09.14.png

Now they are all threaded.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 13.46.57.png

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.09.27.png

I sketched already a mini heart shape and saved it as a DXF file so I just had to insert the file. I also offset the mini heart.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.10.12.png

Unfortunately I couldn't Copy Paste or Move the mini heart, so I had to insert the DXF file manually.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.11.31.png

Later on I extruded the outer hearts with 1.5mm

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.12.14.png

For the containers to be able to connect I created holes for the magnets. I have some magnets that I measured and I gave some space around for the magnets to be able to be inserted in the holes. I gave it 0.25mm space. I think that should be enough.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.12.51.png

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.13.12.png

Now comes the difficult part because this part is new to me. I wanted to have diamonds around the broken heart so I had to make holes around the heart shape. I know how to do it with a flat surface or round surface. But this is not flat or round, it has many different uneven angles. So it took me a while to find out how.

First I created a circle and extruded it, so it is a new body.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.14.26.png

Later on I moved the body with 1mm to the body inside. Then I Combined it with operation Cut. I kept the body so I can use it for making a pattern.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.15.49.png

I created a pattern using that circle I extruded before. (Create > Pattern > Pattern on Path > Orientation: Path Direction). The last one, Path Direction I found out after looking very long how to. I am happy I found it!

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.16.04.png

Now I just need to hide the many round bodies by clicking them.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.16.22.png

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.16.32.png

I did the same pattern for the lower parts.

Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 15.17.21.png

Now it is done!

Nov-11-2017 13-41-21.gif

Nov-11-2017 13-43-29.gif

I am very happy with the result, but I am worried about printing them because they have sharp angles and from experience I know, that the printed parts will create Wrapping. In my next post I will show you the printed parts full with diamonds and duo lip balms inside!

Sort:  

It looks very nice. Just yesterday I was playing with the idea to create a hearth Xmas calendar for my girlfriend but postponed it to next year :)

Only one hint: When designing for a 3D Printer my experience is that cutting the smaller hearths might look better then extruding them on top. The same applies to letters and numbers. At least the FFF 3D-Printer are not so good in printing fine details when the nozzle is too big. But the inverse is often doing quite well.
But this a subject to a test print to see what your printer is best at and it depends on the size of the small hearts.

Welcome friend! I am glad to see another 3d print enthusiast joined the steemit platform. Looking forward to see your design.

Thanks, @tarekadam. Indeed the 3d printing community on steemit is quite small and deserves some growth.
But while you are here: I read anonymous rumors ;-) that @fathin-shihab is not allowed to use the Prusa (is ist MK2 or already the MK3? ) for such a cute design to test it :) you should be more generous when she creates such lovely things and share the print time a little bit!

lol, it is the MK3s and the rumours you heard are absolutely true.

I'm also thinking to get an MK3, but I'm happy with the UM2+ right now. The only real reason would be the multicolor upgrade for the MK3 that is announced on Jan. 2018. My main obstacle is that UM2+ uses 2.85mm Filament, Prusa MK3 is 1.75mm. That would also mean a huge investment in a new filament collection :) are you happy with the Mk3 ?

hehehhe! He promised me his Prusa when steemit price shoots! Because he would buy a new 3d printer. You are my witness ;-)

So whats the target price for Steem? :)

Thank you @drmake. :-). Ahh, that postponing....I am curious how it will look like :-). I think the mini hearts wil be fine when printed. I did it in the past extruding it inside, but I just wanted to do something else. I am just afraid about the sharp angles :-(

Well, I'm not sure if I can understand you. You mean the sharp angles from the thread?
Just test it by only printing the thread and cover for it. Cut it out from the bodies. You maybe need to optimize the thread by lowering the number of iterations. I think for a container like this you want to have as few turns as possible to open and close it anyway.

No, not the threads. The heart shape . The heart shape is pointy below right? And also because its broken hearted.

You should be fine with printing all pieces separately with the bottom side down. You have some bridges inside but No huge overhangs. I good printer should handle this easily.

I guess its not a good printer. I call it a beginners printer.

Which is funny :) Should not a beginners printer be easyer to use then a professional :)

it is easy to use, its just that with pointy object to print, the corner will not stick to the bed, they call it Wrapping. I tried different tapes, glue. It doesn't matter what I do, 1 or 2 corners will not stick properly to the bed :-(.

Very nice. Resteemed :-)

Thanks dear! ;-)

Wah sangat keren kak @fathin-shihab
Saya ingin mencobanya.

Sama-sama kak @fathin-shihab

Skilled clever lady <3

Thank you sweet heart :-)

really super & mind touch art like it

wow nice art 💕 Good design

Happy you like it ;-)

Great design, love it! Upvoted and resteemed :-)

I really appreciate it @mikenero :-) thank you!

you're welcome :-)

Great 3d design tutorial @fathin-shihab. creative work step by step lesson with graphical options.
Resteemed.

Thank you for reading my post and resteeming :-)

Wonderful design work... You use 3D technology very well. Go ahead...
Upvote & Resteem.

wow that prototype and it will soon convert into reality you are awesomeness :D

I hope all will work out well. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48