You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some (big-M) Modern and (little-m) modern Art Work I just saw in Palm Springs….and what I am saying to engage my kids with the pieces. #1: Butterflies and Spiral by Calder

in #art7 years ago

We love museums! My daughter (7) said at the beginning if this summer "This summer will be soooo boring if we don't get to go to even one museum."
How did we help her (and her brother) to like museums ao much? I think there are 3 keys:

  • Be excited yourself, and show it.
  • Engage them with the exhibits but move on when thay are done, even if you are not
  • leave before they have had too much. We find that this is no longer an issue since the museum usually will close before we're done!

Museums are an important part of our home schooling!

Sort:  

Thanks. I really agree with your third point - it is a huge mistake to try to make a "comprehensive" museum visit. I can't wait until my kids are old enough (and developed enough) to close down a museum!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56