Clay Cat Adventures

in #art7 years ago

IMG_1854.JPG

I spend a lot of time in work-study trying to learn new things, particularly in the sculptural area since I work for the sculpture room and the ceramics room at my college campus. There was a lot of extra red clay laying around so I started making the base of a cat sculpture

IMG_1842.JPG

IMG_1843.JPG

A week later I came back to the leather hard model and started working in the details. Smoothing over and burnishing the surface.

IMG_1846.JPG

IMG_1855.JPG

It was a fun little project and I feel I learned a little more about sculpting. Sometimes it's nice to break away from the two dimensional medium and work more hands on. I will post another update if I am able to fire and glaze the cat. Thanks for taking a look!

Sort:  

I hope you can fire and glaze it, it looks wonderful!

Thank you! I will post a small update if I end up glazing it.

Cute. What color are you thinking of?

I'm honestly not sure. I wonder if something simple like white or black would look nice to focus more or the shape of it.

Well I'm looking forward to seeing the end version. No matter what it will look good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67749.41
ETH 3262.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64