Introduction to the Hand - A Tutorial (Part One)

in #art8 years ago (edited)

The hand. For many artists, just the thought of rendering such a complicated form invites short cuts that will eventually reveal your drawing weaknesses. You can't always draw people with hands behind backs or in pockets. We will all know the reason!  So with this hand tutorial, I plan on breaking up this form into basic shapes that are more manageable.

Hands are intimidating to draw. But they are really just a mass of shapes that fit together like a puzzle. Once you understand the basic underlying structure, you can assemble the shapes into various expressive gestures that will enhance your drawings with additional emotional conviction.

Probably the most helpful thing to remember is that fingers are not round cylindrical forms. They have sides much like a long rectangular box. The planes turn in to shadow as the tops of the fingers curve underneath. If you were to wrap a string around your finger from the base to the tip, the shapes would all be slightly different, as in the example above. You can see how the fingernail is set into the tip of the finger - it doesn't just sit on top of it.

And then some exciting things happen as the knuckles come into play. You can clearly see the underlying framework of the tendons and how they attach, particularly when the hand makes a fist. Before you even contemplate a foreshortened fist as I drew above, look at the simple shape above it. The middle finger knuckle is the highest peak, with diagonal lines shooting down on each side indicating the slant of the hand shape. The individual bent knuckle shows the band of tendon stretching down across the bones like a belt that ties machines together. The hand is very much like a machine!

Tomorrow I will be adding part two to this tutorial, where I break the structure of the hand into simple interlocking shapes. Remember it is so much easier to draw something when you view it as a series of forms. 

I want to mention how much I am looking forward to steemfest! 

On Sunday I'm announcing some of my artistic plans for Amsterdam conference attendees. And I would love to hear from any of you attending what kind of subject matter might be appealing as I am working on a list of custom work and commission ideas for one to two hour slots on Sunday November 13th. If you are looking for a unique Dutch steemfest souvenir, be ready to reserve your time. In addition, I will be offering prints available for purchase with SBD. 

Cheers!

J



Sort:  

OMG I have never been able to draw a hand before! I suck at art in general but this is awesome!

Well thank you, @williambanks. Much appreciated!

Beautiful tutorial, as always actually!
Pretty much formidable ;D

I hope so, @richman. Thank you!

Fantastic little tutorial! Figure drawing is so much about anatomy. The breakdown of the bone placement and especially the tendon is really something to keep in mind.

... is what I would say if I had any artistic illustration talent at all. But I don't. Still, great tutorial!

Ha ha, @beowulfoflegend. That is funny. For you to comment as you did, it may be dormant.
Thanks so much!

Why is it particularly difficult to draw hands in pockets? Or was that a joke? :-)

Cg

It can be. Because then you have to draw the fabric stretching over the hand too. No easy way out, @cryptogee!

beautiful tutorial! hands have always been my favorite and my fallback in drawing. Mine don't look true to life but are expressive and just an outlet to reconnect with my creativity. In any case, i love this post, thank you!!

Thank you, @natureofbeing. :) It was fun to do another!

tutorial magnificent, great work what you do, one hand artist congratulations and thank you very much

Once again, outstanding post! Thank you.

thanks, @team101. It was long overdue!

I couldn't have said it better! Another outstanding tutorial!

Thanks, Adil! :)

It's about time.., we got a chance to see another one of these incredible tutorials. Your attention to detail and your playful nature -- blow me away! Cheers to you @fairytalelife

Thank you, my friend. It IS about time. Back in the saddle for me! Thank you so much, as always.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48