Buffalo's Are Bison

in #art7 years ago

In Yellowstone National Park, in the western United States, the North American Bison still roams. This animal is commonly referred to as a Buffalo. I was fortunate enough to see visit and see these in great numbers. I had never seen them before. These Bison are in fact captive, and tightly controlled, but have a wide roaming area. They are the inspiration for this set of paintings I made. 2buffalos.jpeg

Both pieces are watercolor on gesso. Gesso is magical because you can lift paint back to the white of the paper with ease. It's essentially a reverse method. I greatly enjoy working with it. You may notice the texture in both pieces, is not smooth. That is the result of applying the gesso with particular brush strokes. So the process of utilizing the magic begins with how you apply it.

Please enjoy these and upvote and comment. That way I now you're out there!

For more information about the Yellowstone herds, see this link: https://www.nps.gov/yell/learn/nature/bison.htmbuffalocloseup.jpeg

Sort:  

Very good painting! I will try this Gesso, it seems interesting! I am fascinated about Yellowstone and its wildlife! I paint with water colour at the moment!

Thank you so much! Gesso is one of my favorite mediums and you can paint with watercolor right over it. I'm happy this piece connected with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48