Abstract Boldness

in #art7 years ago

This is a mixed media watercolor painting, that I also used some pastels, and watercolor ink in. The pastel enabled me to add that wonderful crayon-like texture to some of the shapes, and the watercolor ink is what enabled me to add that very deep blue hue. I enjoy making watercolor paintings that are very rich in color. The emergent theme of this piece is COLOR. While shape does play a role, it's not the focus.

As in many of my works, it started with a wash, which only had the intention of creating a successful wash. After waiting a while, as in weeks, I added deep, bold color to the wash to glaze layers into it.

I used the patterns that were created with the paint and let that guide me into creating shapes that would work. This shapes are abstractions and not intended to look like familiar objects. That is why the piece is about color and not shape as the subject.

It does make me think of a wine goblet and the rosy-cheeked feeling I get when I drink a rich, red wine.

I hope you enjoy how this piece turned out and that it can evoke other ideas from within your minds' eye.

In peace,
Christina B.pastel&watercolorwineabstract.jpg

Sort:  

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists and art lovers on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

Can you give me feedback on my art, please?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56