Sort:  

Thanks! I have to read that again some time, too; and then, there are the various sequels & prequels to Dune which I want to check out. I bought Song of Fire & Ice (all 7 volumes) on Black Friday and it seems like they gonna last a looong time.

Read the sequels written by Frank Herbert, especially Messiah and Children. The prequels written by Brian are not really comparable, honestly, and you should only read them if you feel like you're a big fan of the original saga :)

Thanks for the tip, I was under the same impression myself but it is good to hear it from a big fan as well! It is the same more or less with Tolkien and his successors... People wanting to capitalize on the success of a book/film/etc ultimately burn it out with low quality standards.

That's true. That's why some writers expressively forbid others to write books set in their universes (I'm thinking of Zelazny's Amber). I think that Brian just wanted to keep his father's legacy alive, though, and I still haven't read the two books that conclude the saga (hunters and sandworms, if I recall correctly) which should be based on his father's notes, and therefore should contain interesting elements. If you're planning on reading the 6 original books you might want to try and see how it all ends :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44