Simple Materials for a Sustainable Solution - Paper Floors! Part 2 - Staining

in #art5 years ago

Using paper to make a floor surface is really a fun process.
See how we utilized craft paper and Elmer's glue to make this base surface.



After allowing the paper floor to completely dry,
I added a coat of stain.



In all the paper projects I have done before this particular room,
I did the papering in one step, then the staining in one step.
But this project had some extra obstacles.
There was a lot of furniture and someone else's personal belongings in the way,
so I just started where I could and worked around them.
I ended up doing the floor in sections both in the papering
and in the staining processes.



I was quite surprised that even though I used the same paper
and the same mix of glue & water,
the places where I stopped and started were quite visible
both in the papering layer, and in the staining.



I'm glad that I did both processes in a random pattern
so there wouldn't be any particular line across the room.
Though it wasn't ideal to apply the flooring in stages,
I was quite certain that I could somehow make adjustments
with another creative application of stain once the
furniture was removed and I could see the whole floor at once!



Now, months after beginning this project
sitting in its unfinished state,
the removal of the furniture and other belongings,
many weeks of a mastermind session in that room
with lots of traffic, stationary and rolling chairs,
I'm embracing the opportunity of bringing the floor back to life.

I was a bit concerned that all of the commotion
on the unfinished floor--
especially since it was only paper with no protective coating--
would compromise the integrity of the surface.



But alas, SURPRISE!
The paper actually held up quite well all on its own!!
There were some dings and a few scratches,
but I  was able to cover them with my final coat of stain
that also evened out the patchwork pattern of the
original various sessions of paper laying and staining.



I think it's cool how the dark stain soaks into all of the
wrinkles in the paper, as well as the edges of overlapping pieces.
There is a natural variance in the way the stain takes to the paper,
which perhaps is caused by the inconsistency of using different sides
of the paper up!?  

I think the difference in color provides a lot of texture, and because we tore the paper with many curves,
the floor has a leather cobblestone look to it,
which I'm quite drawn to and excited about.
If we were to cut the paper in strips instead without crumpling it,
we could mimic a hardwood floor-type surface.

Check out my upcoming post to see
what I do next to this stained surface of my paper floor.


Sort:  

Amazing progress!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69104.81
ETH 3758.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68